Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 22nd December 2005, 20:53
AdykOSu AdykOSu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
please post the content of /etc/network/interfaces
this is the exact content of "/etc/network/interfaces"

Code:
#This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
#and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

$The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

#The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.4.85
netmask 255.255.254.0
network 192.168.4.0
boradcast 192.168.4.255
gateway 192.168.182.2
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 22nd December 2005, 22:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdykOSu
this is the exact content of "/etc/network/interfaces"

Code:
#This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
#and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

$The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

#The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.4.85
netmask 255.255.254.0
network 192.168.4.0
broadcast 192.168.4.255
gateway 192.168.182.2
Your network settings are wrong.
Is 192.168.182.2 really your gateway? Then you should pick an IP address from the 192.168.182 net for eth0. Also, the netmask should be 255.255.255.0. Of course, if you switch to a 192.168.182 IP address, you also have to adjust network and broadcast appropriately, like this:

Code:
#This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
#and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

#The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

#The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
      address 192.168.182.85
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      network 192.168.182.0
      broadcast 192.168.182.255
      gateway 192.168.182.2
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22nd December 2005, 23:09
AdykOSu AdykOSu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i did set up the gateway this way:
Code:
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.4.85
netmask 255.255.254.0
network 192.168.4.0
broadcast 192.168.4.255
gateway 192.168.5.254
and i receive the following message when i restart my network using
Code:
/etc/init.d/networking restart
:
Code:
Setting up IP spoofing protection: rp_filter.
Reconfiguring network interfaces...ifup: interface lo already configured
don.
...so i think that's ok. isn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22nd December 2005, 23:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdykOSu
i did set up the gateway this way:
Code:
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.4.85
netmask 255.255.254.0
network 192.168.4.0
broadcast 192.168.4.255
gateway 192.168.5.254
That's still wrong! The gateway has to in the same subnet as eth0, e.g. 192.168.4.254 (and it really has to be a gateway, you cannot make up any IP address you can think of, because then you won't have internet access).
And your netmask is still wrong. It has to be 255.255.255.0, not 255.255.254.0!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdykOSu
and i receive the following message when i restart my network using
Code:
/etc/init.d/networking restart
:
Code:
Setting up IP spoofing protection: rp_filter.
Reconfiguring network interfaces...ifup: interface lo already configured
don.
...so i think that's ok. isn't it?
That's not that serious.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23rd December 2005, 00:02
AdykOSu AdykOSu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here is my current config ( on my Win OS ) :
Code:
IP address      : 192.168.5.xx
Subnet Mask     : 255.255.254.0
Default Gateway : 192.168.5.254
DHCP Server     : 81.168.168.129
DNS Server      : 192.168.5.254
WINS Server     :
taken from my Network Connection Details in Win.. i run Linux using VmWare workstation 5.5 and the host OS is Win XP SP2.
should i try to config the same way the interfaces ( eth0 ) on my Debian?

Last edited by AdykOSu; 23rd December 2005 at 01:07.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 23rd December 2005, 10:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Have a look at http://www.subnetmask.info/ to calculate your correct settings.

If you use the IP address 192.168.5.253, for example (with the gateway 192.168.5.254), then network must be 192.168.4.0, and broadcast must be 192.168.5.255.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Webmail URL, uses local network and not internet danf.1979 General 8 24th December 2005 16:24
Can't access System config / Settings section Spektro Installation/Configuration 1 9th December 2005 15:31
SMTP TLS Problem with Mail Client dschmid Installation/Configuration 1 9th December 2005 01:56
Problem installing ISPConfig, then with MySQL... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 7 26th September 2005 16:37
Problem with webmail MyLinux General 10 17th September 2005 14:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.