Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th December 2007, 13:16
mrvanes mrvanes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Domains limit not enforced for resellers?

Hi,

I'm using ISPconfig to maintain my DNS and Webserver as an admin and now I wanted to let a friend administrate his secondaries on my machine. So I created a reseller account for him with all services disabled except DNS manager, every amount set to 0 except slave zones, which I left at -1 (unlimited).

Now I test his account and to my surprise he is able to add Master Domains, and the counter cheerfully indicates he now has 1 of 0 DNS domains created.

It is not a big problem since I trust him not to abuse the rights, but I thought I'd let it know. I tested a max of 1 Master Domain, since I suspected 0 to be an exception in the code that wasn't handled. But even with max Master Domains set to 1, he can create 2 Master Domains (and the summary shows 2 of 1 domains created).

So either, I don't understand the limits, or this is a 'serious' bug in ISPConfig (2.2.18)?

If I go back to the limit page (as admin) and set the max back to 0, the interface correctly warns me that this user already has more than the limit # domains, so the check works on that part of the manager.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th December 2007, 21:36
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,177
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,414 Times in 4,257 Posts
Default

Have you been logged in with his account or did you test as you were logged in as admin?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th December 2007, 21:49
mrvanes mrvanes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As I stated in the line "Now I test his account": I logged in as the reseller account, not as admin.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd January 2008, 11:07
mrvanes mrvanes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

*** bump ***
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 14:15
Outlook does not Authenticates aberrio Server Operation 30 1st November 2007 19:21
different counting of domains torusturtle Feature Requests 7 9th May 2007 22:18
No ftp login for ispconfig-webuser agri Installation/Configuration 12 19th March 2007 10:06
Is there a Script to add Multiple Domains (websites) to ISPCONFIG??? bpmee Programming/Scripts 2 23rd February 2007 01:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.