Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th October 2007, 19:57
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default Moving existing customer databases - rename issue

I've got a configuration issue I'm not sure how to deal with.

I'm moving some customers from a Plesk server to an ISPConfig server. So far I'm not having issues moving e-mail customers, web content, DNS settings, etc - it requires a lot of diligence and housekeeping, but it's doable.

The issue I now have to deal with is moving user databases. Very few of my Plesk users have databases, but those that do of course have CGI scripts that refer to them. If I create a database for my customer whose WebID is WEB1370, for example, the database that gets created is "web1370_u1". If the customer's CGI scripts refer to the database as "site1Members", then the customer will have to modify all of their CGIs to refer to the new database name.

Aside from creating the database outside of ISPConfig, does anyone have any pointers as to how I might manage this?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th October 2007, 23:18
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Default

I guess either your customers or you are having to do this editing by hand.

If there are not many of them I would create them outside of ISPConfig so that customers don't have to bother with this moving system issue.
Maybe it would be wise to create an easy tutorial how they can move there databases themselves later if they need to.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th October 2007, 23:35
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torusturtle
I guess either your customers or you are having to do this editing by hand.

If there are not many of them I would create them outside of ISPConfig so that customers don't have to bother with this moving system issue.
Maybe it would be wise to create an easy tutorial how they can move there databases themselves later if they need to.
That's the way I'm leaning as well. I'm moving close to 400 domains (the fun ones are the ones with over a hundred e-mail users, since I haven't been able to get the Remoting Framework to work), but of those 400 or so fewer than a dozen have databases. It looks like it will be a lot simpler to create and manage those databases outside of ISPConfig than it would be to get the users to update their scripts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving ISP and compatibility issue MvincM Installation/Configuration 2 8th November 2006 10:11
Rename Databases AngelDrago Installation/Configuration 2 18th October 2005 06:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.