Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 18th September 2007, 17:18
chancer chancer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The server with ISPConfig is in Docklands, London. The two sites I've shown the dig results on are hosted on that server. I am remote from that server, only connected whenever I ssh in, or by browser to the ISPConfig via https://somedomain:81
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 18th September 2007, 18:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Can you post the real domain name?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #13  
Old 18th September 2007, 18:32
chancer chancer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

horsfieldsofhalifax.co.uk
  #14  
Old 18th September 2007, 18:48
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default

I consulted "whois" to look up thename servers for that domain. The returned values were:
Name servers:
a.ns.bytemark.co.uk 80.68.80.26
b.ns.bytemark.co.uk 85.17.170.78

Doing "dig" against those IP's returned:
dan@dm:~$ dig @80.68.80.26 horsfieldsofhalifax.co.uk

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> @80.68.80.26 horsfieldsofhalifax.co.uk
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
dan@dm:~$ dig @85.17.170.78 horsfieldsofhalifax.co.uk

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> @85.17.170.78 horsfieldsofhalifax.co.uk
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

dan@dm:~$ dig horsfieldsofhalifax.co.uk

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> horsfieldsofhalifax.co.uk
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 42672
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;horsfieldsofhalifax.co.uk. IN A

;; Query time: 5155 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.3.200#53(192.168.3.200)
;; WHEN: Tue Sep 18 11:44:43 2007
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 43


So, I'd say the first question would be:
Are either of those 2 IP addresses your ISPConfig server? If so, do you get different results when you do those dig's from home? If you are getting proper results back, then I am puzzled!
  #15  
Old 18th September 2007, 19:20
chancer chancer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

They're the DNS servers, not the hosting server. From dig @serverIP I got a full set of results. From dig horsfieldsofhalifax.co.uk I got failed, as reported earlier.

Which gives me another tip. I'll try the guys at Bytemark to see if they can throw any light on it.

Incidentally, I have full control over the domain. I bought it on behalf of the client and set the tagholder myself, for the exact reason of being able to control DNS settings and so forth.
  #16  
Old 18th September 2007, 19:52
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chancer
They're the DNS servers, not the hosting server. From dig @serverIP I got a full set of results. From dig horsfieldsofhalifax.co.uk I got failed, as reported earlier.

Which gives me another tip. I'll try the guys at Bytemark to see if they can throw any light on it.

Incidentally, I have full control over the domain. I bought it on behalf of the client and set the tagholder myself, for the exact reason of being able to control DNS settings and so forth.
Ok, that enlightens me a bit. I had assumed that you were depending on ISPCOnfig for your DNS as well.

Yes, at this point it would definitely seem to point to Bytemark. If you have a DNS management interface available through them, you would want to look there.
The Following User Says Thank You to catdude For This Useful Post:
chancer (18th September 2007)
  #17  
Old 19th September 2007, 13:49
chancer chancer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

I have found out what is wrong. It is an abject lesson in "Don't let DNS trip you up" for anyone new to DNS and to hosting management systems in general.

When I first got this LVM it was, as I'd asked, preloaded with a proprietary brand's hosting management system. The first thing I did was to load the settings for most, but not all, of the domains under my control into it. Hence A, MX and C records are all pre-set for those domains. The next thing I found out was that I didn't like that system, found an alternative (which is why I'm here) and wiped the virtual hard drive to start all over again. But I didn't wipe those DNS settings.

So it turns out ISPConfig hasn't put the DNS records where they should be at all. Nor has it put the records in for the one domain I have subsequently set up in ISPConfig.

Mods, I think the topic deserves a new thread. Please close this one so we don't have two concurrent conversations on the same topic. I'll call the new one "Setting up DNS automation post-installation"
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
One Domain Name Not Responding Authoritatively bluethunder82 Installation/Configuration 5 9th September 2007 16:09
Mail doesn't send tristanlee85 General 14 16th April 2007 17:30
This is %#@*&^$# embarrassing! domino Smalltalk 34 5th February 2007 21:57
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.