Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th September 2007, 13:14
showe1966 showe1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: naples italy
Posts: 46
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default I just need one website......

Dear ISPCONFIG team,

Thanks for the fantastic job on the app and the easy to follow install guide.
So, all I need to do now is work out how to use the app !

Wading through the manual, I realize I can do a lot of things.

All I need to do, however, is get a single website working .
It is probably also what the other 95% of "users" want to do too.
So, maybe it would be a smart idea for someone to write a few lines in your manual that would tell someone how to achive this.

In fact, as this is what I'm about to do, I will probably post the answer to my own post in a few days.

Later........
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th September 2007, 15:23
chuckl chuckl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Uxbridge, Middlesex, UK
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Default

I think

1. Click New Client - Enter details & create a Client.

2. Click New Site - Enter desired details and create Site.

would get you on the road.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th September 2007, 17:30
showe1966 showe1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: naples italy
Posts: 46
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default more on the website setup

Before I get onto the website setup, I have some questions about the server setup.
BTW I have Ubuntu-704-feisty-32-minimal 2.6.20-16-server.
I followed all the instructions in the install guide plus the ubuntu 6.06 server setup guide on "howto forge".
So, my ISPCONFIG system is apparently installed and running smoothly.

If I goto https://xx.yy.zz.aa:81 and login as "admin" and then go to the following menu:-

"management"

in the tab that appears:-
"server"

I can enter data like
Hostname:
Domain:
IP Address:
Netmask:
Admin Email:

1. Other than the ip address of my server, do I need to set these up ? I'm the only person needing to do admin, and it is more secure and less expensive if i just stick with an ip address rather than adding a domain name.
2. what is appropriate for the admin e-mail ?
I check my e-mail on another e-mail system so I guess i should specify that e-mail address because otherwise it is unlikely to get read.

On the tab:-
e-mail

what do \i have to set up here ?
What e-mail are we talking about ?
Is it some kind of a global setting page for all the e-mail that will be handled by all the hosted sites or what ?

on the tab

dns

what should i set in here ?
Default Ns1: server1.mydom.dom
I suppose if i am running BIND locally
Default Ns2: some other backup DNS server somewhere else.com
Admin Email: ?? not sure what goes in here as above
Default MX: ?? not sure here either as what website /MX account for what post are we talking about here as so far, I did not create any websites ????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th September 2007, 17:37
showe1966 showe1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: naples italy
Posts: 46
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Yet more questions about setting up one website

OK after we've got through with the global server settings I need to do the following I think:-
SETTING UP A WEBSITE
********************
Click on "New Client"
Follow instructions as per section 2.1 "add a customer" in the reseller manual.
Click on "New Site"
Follow instructions as per section 3.1 "add a site" in the reseller manual.
Step: Assign title, folder and basic information.
* Title: This is the title under which the site will appear in the structure tree.
* Folder: Select the folder "Sites". Alternatively you have the possibility to create a new folder for the sites which you then can select here. Learn how to create folders in chapter II-4.1.1.
* Server: Select the server that will host the site.
* Hostname: Enter the hostname (e.g. www).
* Domain: Enter the domain of the site (e.g. mydomain.com).
* IP Address: Enter the IP address of the site.
* Create DNS: Click on "Create DNS" to create a DNS entry for the current site. After you have provided the other information for the site and have clicked on "Save" the DNS entry is created and can be edited by the administrator if necessary.
3. Step: Limit webspace, users and domains.

* Space MB: Enter the amount of MB that should be available to the site ("-1" means "Unlimited").
* Max. User: Enter the maximum number of users with email boxes that can be assigned to the site ("-1" means "Unlimited").
* Max. Domains: Enter the maximum number of co-domains that can be set up for the site ("-1" means "Unlimited").

4. Step: Activate site features.

* Shell Access: Allows the customer to use the linux shell. This is a security risk and should therefore only be granted in exceptional cases. Shell access includes FTP access.
* CGI Scripts: Allows the web server to execute cgi scripts in a certain directory (cgi-bin).
* PHP Scripts: Allows the web server to execute PHP scripts (file extensions .php, .php3, .php4).
* SSI: Activates Server Side Includes (SSI) (file extension .shtml).
* FTP Access: Allows the users assigned to a site to access the site or the users' directories via ftp.
* MySQL: Enables the creation of a database which is assigned to the site. If you supply a user name and password for the MySQL database in the tab "Other" the database will be created automatically.
* SSL Certificate: Enables the creation of an SSL certificate for the site. You still have to fill out the section "SSL" and select "Create Certificate" in that section to create the certificate. Learn more about applying for an SSL certificate in chapter III-2.4.1. If this field is not activated the tab "SSL" is not shown!
Please note: There can be only one SSL-capable site per IP address!
* Anonymous FTP: Activate this to create an Anonymous-FTP account for this site.
Please note: There can be only one Anonymous-FTP account per IP address!
* Anon. FTP MB: Please specify the storage space in MB that should be available for the Anonymous-FTP account. "-1" means "Unlimited". If "Anonymous FTP" is not activated this field is ignored.
* Apache Direktives (Optional): This field is available to you as a reseller only if the ISPConfig administrator has activated it for you. It offers you the opportunity to write additional Apache directives into the site's virtual host container manually. These directives will undergo a syntax check. If the syntax check gives back an error the directives will be commented out automatically so that the Apache web server cannot die.

Thge resat of the website has to be setup from within the "clients" manual, section 2.2.
Section 2.2
To set up an e-mail account for the website do the following:-
1.click on the title of the site created.
This brings up the "ISP Site" window.
2. click on the "user and e-mail" tab.
3. Click on "new"
4. add appropriate data for the new e-mail account.

questions:-
1. what is the name of the pop3 server and where is it ?
This would normally be set from the inside of the primary zone file in the MX records I believe.
2. what is the pop3 password ?
I assume the password entered for the user.
3. where is the smtp server and what is it called and how do you set this up anyway?
4. what is the password for sending mail with the smtp server ?
Frankly, this is my whole reason for going to all this trouble in the first place, as any fool can set up a website on apache, but password protected encripted mail setup is another kettle of fish IMHO....:-p
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th September 2007, 08:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
Default

Quote:
1. what is the name of the pop3 server and where is it ?
You can use any domain or IP that points to your server.

Quote:
2. what is the pop3 password ?
You entered the password yourself as you createdd the email user.

Quote:
3. where is the smtp server and what is it called and how do you set this up anyway?
You can use any domain or IP that points to your server.

Quote:
4. what is the password for sending mail with the smtp server ?
You entered the password yourself as you createdd the email user.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th September 2007, 09:36
showe1966 showe1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: naples italy
Posts: 46
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default clarification about why you have to give the server a domain name in "server settings

Dear Till,

Thanks very much for that clarifiaction about smtp server name, pop3 server name and passwords.
I suppose that the above is a consequence of what you set up in your primary zones file MX records. I will check it out and post my findings after i actually get through with doing a setup.

I have a question about the overall server settings however.

I only have one domain name to register, and one IP address.
So I MUST enter this during install of ISPCONFIG in order to correctly identify my computer when we get to the following section of the install proceedure :-

Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: E.g. 192.168.0.1
Please enter the host name: E.g. www
Please enter the domain: E.g. xyz.de

So, now I have my ISPConfig system installed, I create a new client to enable me to create a single website, then i create a new site (Note: not sure if i should create the new website with the client as the owner or not. Not sure which is the better thing to do.).

Problem: When I go to create my new site, I have to specify again host name and domain name as above i.e. www.xyz.de and the IP address as 192.168.0.1.

Question: Apart from the obvious problem of the fact that any member of the unsuspecting public surfing to port 81 of www.xyz.de getting the ispconfig login page, which it is clear i will just have to live with, is it possible for me to create a client website now using the host and domain name and ip address previously specified as belonging to my server ?

If it is not possible, then how do i go about doing it with just one domain name and ip address or do I necessarily have to have two domain names and two ip addresses to use this software?

I hope very much for your patience and kind help in explaining to me what is the best thing to do here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th September 2007, 15:08
showe1966 showe1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: naples italy
Posts: 46
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Update on previous questions

OK, in the absence of complete information, I am proceeding by trial and error.
I deinstalled the current install, and started over again.
I tried leaving the hostname and domain name blank during setup.
You cannot do this as it won't let you go forwards in the install script.
I tried leaving the hostname blank and adding my ip address as the domain name.
This works, but it sets up an A record to www.yourip which is not want we want at all is it !!??

So I deinstalled again and will try installing again with different variables until I crack it......

Later, dudes.....

I swear I will write a decent setup howto for a fix ip address site after all this torture is over.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th September 2007, 15:52
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by showe1966
All I need to do, however, is get a single website working .
It is probably also what the other 95% of "users" want to do too.
So, maybe it would be a smart idea for someone to write a few lines in your manual that would tell someone how to achive this.
Will the server in question only be serving up a single web site, and never provide services for a second domain or for other customers? If so, then I think that ISPConfig might actually not be what you want to use.

ISPConfig makes it easy to manage web and e-mail services for a great many customers and many domains. But if you are only interested in a single site within a single domain, ISPConfig would actually be overkill. It might be akin to swatting mosquitos with a 12 gauge shotgun
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th September 2007, 16:39
showe1966 showe1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: naples italy
Posts: 46
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

thanks for your reply.
I agree it is totally OTT for what I want to do.
But, I definitely need complete control of a mail server and a website that support encrypted mail transfers and also has a password for the pop3 and smtp usage.
I did try setting up one smtp/pop3 server with passwords in the past manually, but it did seem rather complicated and i never got it working right.

Plus, ISPConfig has a lot of useful ancilliary services pre-configured.
Like a spam filter, anti-virus and webalizer.
So if i install ISPConfig I will be loosing a lot of flexibility over my apache and bind install, but gaining a lot of time not having to go through all the setup on the mail server , spam filter, webalizer etc etc.

Also my site gets huge quantities of mail and quite a bit of traffic which i don't want to administer manually.

Thanks for your reply in any case.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th September 2007, 16:48
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
 
Default

That sounds reasonable.

It might help to summarize what your situation. I know it would help me to properly understand the task at hand.

You have a static IP address, correct? You you have multiple IP addresses, or just one? And your goal is to provide e-mail (SMTP and POP/IMAP), web, and DNS services for a single domain. Does the domain for which you want to provide service currently have it's NS record set to your IP address(es)?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
View Website Internally (How To) Broady General 4 8th June 2007 10:22
Apache not reading conf? /var/www directory displayed when visiting any ISPC website toodles Installation/Configuration 2 15th February 2007 23:06
Website Quota ? zephirus79 Installation/Configuration 1 29th November 2006 10:57
Mysql assignation to a new website jeanjacquesjeanjacques Installation/Configuration 4 30th January 2006 17:53
debianhelp new website - www.debianhelp.co.uk gg234 Installation/Configuration 0 5th November 2005 18:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.