Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th April 2007, 04:31
sonoracomm sonoracomm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default Support for a Third Name Server

Hi Folks,

Please don't take this as a criticism, just a feature request. ;-)

It would be very helpful to me to be able to have a third nameserver.

In my application, we slave two other high-volume name servers from our ISPconfig machine to keep the load low and make things more secure and reliable. We then point all the domains at the two slave servers...the ISPconfig name server is not even accessible to end-users. My partner calls this a 'hidden' name server.

What I have to do is edit the /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/pri.domain.master file by hand. Further, I'm told I have to add the third nameserver at the _top_ of the list of nameservers...in other words, I can't add the third nameserver in the 'manual edits' section.

The problem this creates is this: each time I upgrade ISPconfig, I have to manually edit the file again AND I have to make a change to each domain using the web interface and click 'save' to regenerate each zone file with the third NS. This is quite tedious.

I suspect there is a script I could run to regenerate all of the zone files at once, but...

Thanks for ISPconfig and thanks for listening.

G
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th April 2007, 11:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoracomm
the ISPconfig name server is not even accessible to end-users. My partner calls this a 'hidden' name server.
Did you use one of the "Perfect Setups" to installl your system? Then there shouldn't be any problems with BIND.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoracomm
What I have to do is edit the /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/pri.domain.master file by hand. Further, I'm told I have to add the third nameserver at the _top_ of the list of nameservers...in other words, I can't add the third nameserver in the 'manual edits' section.
You can modify the template file /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/pri.domain.master wherever you want, so you can add a third name server at the top.
The line at the bottom about modifications is for the "real" zone files (after ISPConfig has written them using the /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/pri.domain.master template).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th April 2007, 23:53
sonoracomm sonoracomm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

There are no problems with BIND. It all works perfectly.

We have purposefully made the ISPconfig server (BIND) unavailable publicly; it's available only to the slaves. That is not the problem.

Furthermore, I know I can edit the pri.domain.master file in the manner you describe. I have been doing it for quite a while now.

The problem is that I have to edit the file _every_time_I_upgrade_ISPconfig_. Then I have to regenerate each zone file as well, which is a tedious process with a large number of domains (I usually just change the TTL and click save on each domain). After an ISPconfig upgrade (I have done several now), the pri.domain.master file is overwritten and _all_ of the zone files are regenerated incorrectly (depending on your perspective).

Again, I realize this feature request may not affect the majority of users, but if it is easy to implement, I ask you to consider it. That's all.

Thanks again,

G
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th April 2007, 14:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoracomm
The problem is that I have to edit the file _every_time_I_upgrade_ISPconfig_. Then I have to regenerate each zone file as well, which is a tedious process with a large number of domains (I usually just change the TTL and click save on each domain). After an ISPconfig upgrade (I have done several now), the pri.domain.master file is overwritten and _all_ of the zone files are regenerated incorrectly (depending on your perspective).
Ah, ok, now I understand. I've added it to our bugtracker.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th May 2007, 15:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I've fixed this. You can now put your customized templates in the folder /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/customized_templates. These templates override the default templates in /root/ispconfig/isp/conf, and they are saved when you update ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th May 2007, 18:38
sonoracomm sonoracomm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thanks Falko,

Good idea. I'll test this over the weekend.

I created the directory and copied in the modified template.

I assume, I now just upgrade as normal...with 2.2.12? Or do I need to use a different (SVN?) version?

I'll let you know how it goes.

G
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th May 2007, 12:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoracomm
I created the directory and copied in the modified template.

I assume, I now just upgrade as normal...with 2.2.12? Or do I need to use a different (SVN?) version?
This will be in the next release. If you want to test it now, you need the SVN version.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th June 2007, 07:14
dotcom dotcom is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm running 2.2.14, I see the customized_templates directory, so I assume the feature is present...

How do we edit this file?

My plesk template looks like this:
<domain>. NS ns1.xxx.net.
<domain>. NS ns2.xxx.net.
<domain>. A <ip>
<domain>. MX (10) mail.<domain>.
<domain>. MX (30) mx1.xxx.net.
<domain>. MX (20) mx2.xxx.net.
<domain>. TXT "v=spf1 a mx ip4:1.2.3.3 ~all"
ftp.<domain>. A <ip>
mail.<domain>. A 1.2.3.4
mail2.<domain>. A 1.2.3.5
webmail.<domain>. A 1.2.3.6

How do I translate this into the correct ISPconfig template?


Thanks for a great product!!!


George

Last edited by dotcom; 27th June 2007 at 07:33.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th June 2007, 02:14
sonoracomm sonoracomm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

Hi dotcom,

I just updated to the latest (2.2.14) version. Before I did so, I created a /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/customized_templates directory and I copied my (functional, customized) pri.domain.master template file into it. Then I ran the upgrade.

My zone files apparently did not get rebuilt as they still have dates as of the previous upgrade and they look fine. I then modified a domain and it was rebuilt properly using my customized template.

So, my problem looks like it's fixed.

Thanks again for this great product!

G

p.s. Some time ago, I put up a quickie howto on my web site for my own benefit. Maybe someone else might find it useful. http://www.sonoracomm.com/index.php?...rdering=newest
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 15:44
ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! micko_escalade Installation/Configuration 35 30th March 2007 11:31
Another ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your sy hoopsx3 Installation/Configuration 2 29th January 2007 07:56
ISPConfig Failure on SuSe 9.3 gimhan90 Installation/Configuration 13 2nd February 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.