#1  
Old 27th May 2007, 12:18
erikja erikja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile VMware server with Ubuntu

Hi.

I have installed a VMware server on my Windows XP pro computer.

The intention was to install an Ubuntu on a Windows XP computer.

Also the Ubuntu install went ok without problems.

Now I have problems with getting my Ubuntu on the Internet.

I think it has something with the correct IP's to do, but I'm not sure.

On the LAN I use IP's in the area 192.168.1.x

But the IP's for the Bridged LAN has another area than what I have shown above.

Here I show what the LAN looks like:



My LAN for the computer where I have VMware and Ubuntu installed:



The vmnet1:



The vmnet8:



Can anyone see a reason for not being able to get on the Inet with my Ubuntu ?

Thanks in advance for replies
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th May 2007, 16:38
mtuser mtuser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 40
Thanks: 19
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to mtuser Send a message via Yahoo to mtuser Send a message via Skype™ to mtuser
Default

In ubuntu
check you can ping to 192.168.1.4 and 192.168.1.1
if yes. check dns what you use in ubuntu.

/etc/resolv.conf
__________________
ispconfig v3 site test.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th May 2007, 17:18
erikja erikja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi mtuser. Thanks for your reply.

The first 2 tests is here:




Here's the /etc/resolv.conf file:



What does this tell you ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th May 2007, 18:29
mtuser mtuser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 40
Thanks: 19
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to mtuser Send a message via Yahoo to mtuser Send a message via Skype™ to mtuser
Default

check your firewall



you should ping to your host IP
ping to gateway
then can lookup the websites.

Quote:
~$ nslookup www.howtoforge.com
Server: 192.168.10.254
Address: 192.168.10.254#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.howtoforge.com
Address: 85.10.207.148
__________________
ispconfig v3 site test.

Last edited by mtuser; 27th May 2007 at 18:33.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th May 2007, 18:40
erikja erikja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi mtuser.

As I don't use Windows XP's firewall, but the one included with Bullguard, I have to check how I do the same trick there.

Will be back as soon as I have found out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th May 2007, 19:50
erikja erikja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In Bullguard I found the place, where I think I shall do the same as in the firewall for Windows XP ??.

I have made screeshots of the place, and would be glad to get help to check the right places.

Thank you.



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th May 2007, 08:23
erikja erikja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi.

Now I have tried with and without having the firewall ON.

Here it is in OFF mode:



And here the firewall is ON:



Again to view the ICMP better from my Bullguard softwarepackage:




With the firewall OFF, I can browse ok with Firefox.

Can anybody help me to set the right checks in the ICMP options ?.

And also what maybe is wrong now ?.

Thanks in advance.


And again:

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th May 2007, 16:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Unfortunately I don't know this Bullguard firewall. I think you have to play around with it a little bit...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th May 2007, 16:30
erikja erikja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko...

Thanks for yor reply.

You don't think there are any eqivalents to the windows firewallsuggestion a bit up this thread ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th May 2007, 19:52
erikja erikja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Unfortunately I don't know this Bullguard firewall. I think you have to play around with it a little bit...

Hi again.

Beside the info on a Windows XP firewall setup up this, is there no other equal rules for other firewalls, that can be used for my Bullguard ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 15:44
Problem with VMWare Server on Ubuntu 6.10 anrapas HOWTO-Related Questions 1 29th March 2007 13:47
VMWare Server Howto and Ubuntu Questions crudolphy HOWTO-Related Questions 11 25th July 2006 20:11
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.