Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th April 2007, 23:10
aidwiz aidwiz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Newbie Questions on ISPConfig - Please Shed Some Light

i am quite confused on how to implement this. a friend of mine has one physical server. he had already registered two domain names for example, domainone.com and domaintwo.com. He is planning to host more domains in the near future. He also needs to host mailboxes for all the different domains.

after some readings on ispconfig, i think it is quite a solution but to implement it, i am totally a noob. i only have experience in a simple web server setup - one domain and one ip address, that's it.

my questions:
1- will ispconfig satisfy the needs above?
2- my friend has only one static ip, can the above be implemented? any special requirements?
3- will this work behind a router / firewall so that the physical server can have an internal ip.
4- any other network requirements for ispconfig (ip's, dns or others?)

questions for dynamic ip
1- will this work in a testing environment - a server with internal ip (192.169.1.x) behind a router with dynamic ip address?

that is all that i can think now. i've tried to search the forum, has some answers but i insist to ask. sorry for the trouble caused.

any pointers to good links in this forum that has the same cases as mine are most welcomed.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th April 2007, 23:22
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,421
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,205 Times in 4,081 Posts
Default

1) Yes.
2) Yes. No special requirements except that the IP should be static. You may have as many websites / domains as you like with one IP, but only one of the websites can be a SSL enabled site. That is a limitation of the SSL protocol.
3) Yes.
4) No.

A dynamic IP will be ok for testing, but you should have a free (sub) domain for testing form e.g. dyndns.

Quote:
any pointers to good links in this forum that has the same cases as mine are most welcomed.
Have a look at the documentation page on ispconfig.org. You will find there a list of perfect setup guides, if you follow one of these guides as close as possible, your setup will work out of the box.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
aidwiz (14th April 2007)
  #3  
Old 14th April 2007, 10:23
aidwiz aidwiz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
1) Yes.
2) Yes. No special requirements except that the IP should be static. You may have as many websites / domains as you like with one IP, but only one of the websites can be a SSL enabled site. That is a limitation of the SSL protocol.
3) Yes.
4) No.

A dynamic IP will be ok for testing, but you should have a free (sub) domain for testing form e.g. dyndns.



Have a look at the documentation page on ispconfig.org. You will find there a list of perfect setup guides, if you follow one of these guides as close as possible, your setup will work out of the box.
thanks! so if i want to test it with dynamic ip, the basic things that i need to is add two host / domain name in dyndns, correct? e.g test1.mine.nu + test1.homeip.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th April 2007, 14:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

One hostname is sufficient. Just point it to your router's public IP address and forward all needed ports from your router to your ISPConfig server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th April 2007, 15:25
aidwiz aidwiz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if it is like that, can i / you have surf the sites using dyndns from the outside (Internet) for two different domains that i hosted e.g test1.homeip.net + test1.mine.nu.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th April 2007, 11:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aidwiz
if it is like that, can i / you have surf the sites using dyndns from the outside (Internet) for two different domains that i hosted e.g test1.homeip.net + test1.mine.nu.
In that case you need two domains, of course.
I was thinking of the domain to reach your ISPConfig control panel.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th April 2007, 10:33
aidwiz aidwiz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
In that case you need two domains, of course.
I was thinking of the domain to reach your ISPConfig control panel.
thanks falko. the domain that i use to reach my ispconfig control panel is the hostname of my machine e.g http://testing.aidwiz.net:81

so to host more than 1 domain for example, i need to register e.g in dyndns two domains right
1- test1.homeip.net
2- test2.mine.nu

is that right?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th April 2007, 11:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aidwiz
is that right?
Yes, that's right.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th April 2007, 11:21
aidwiz aidwiz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i've successfully installed ispconfig and now doing the configs.
registered two dummy domains with dyndns
1- test1.mine.nu - OK
2- test2.mine.nu - OK

allow and get public dynamic IP of router - OK
point router firewall to basic port (dns, web server) - OK

follow page 1 of this manual
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund - OK

can't follow page 2 of this manual - no configurable settings at dyndns - NOT OK

QUESTIONS
1- can i just skip creating nameservers for those 2 domains and just ns1.dyndns.com and ns2.dyndns.com instead?
2- my host from outside will look like this right e.g www.test1.shacknet.nu and www.test2.mine.nu right, because of dyndns?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th April 2007, 13:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aidwiz
1- can i just skip creating nameservers for those 2 domains and just ns1.dyndns.com and ns2.dyndns.com instead?
Your DynDNS domains are handled by the DynDNS name servers automatically, so you don't have to worry about DNS at all (as long as your router updates the records). So you don't have to configure your own name servers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aidwiz
2- my host from outside will look like this right e.g www.test1.shacknet.nu and www.test2.mine.nu right, because of dyndns?
No, it will be without www because you registered test1.mine.nu and test2.mine.nu, not www.test1.mine.nu / www.test2.mine.nu. This is a difference.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple ISPConfig & DNS Questions and Problems bfriend Installation/Configuration 3 6th January 2007 06:14
4 questions about ispconfig and domains, please help! dimas Installation/Configuration 7 1st August 2006 11:55
questions from a newbie in a hurry... ignasigarcia Installation/Configuration 2 22nd June 2006 23:54
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16
General ISPConfig Newbie Questions christopher Installation/Configuration 1 24th November 2005 09:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.