Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Tips/Tricks/Mods

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 13th November 2005, 13:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,500 Times in 4,329 Posts
Default

You dont have to create the databases in ISPConfig. But if you create the database in phpmyadmin you will also have to create the users and ppriviliges for this database with phpmyadmin.
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 14th November 2005, 02:34
rosa hsiao rosa hsiao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
You dont have to create the databases in ISPConfig. But if you create the database in phpmyadmin you will also have to create the users and ppriviliges for this database with phpmyadmin.
If I want to create a client with 5 sites and also grant the client the ability to create 5 databases in ISPConfig. Can you tell or redirect me to a url as how to create different site users and privileges for different database names?

How to change the default database name to a user defined one such as:
'web1_db1' ===> 'members'
'web2_db2' ====> 'catalogus'
  #13  
Old 14th November 2005, 11:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rosa hsiao
If I want to create a client with 5 sites and also grant the client the ability to create 5 databases in ISPConfig. Can you tell or redirect me to a url as how to create different site users and privileges for different database names?
Have a look at MySQL's GRANT syntax: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/4.1/en/grant.html, or use phpMyAdmin to create new users.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rosa hsiao
How to change the default database name to a user defined one such as:
'web1_db1' ===> 'members'
'web2_db2' ====> 'catalogus'
You can't do that with ISPConfig, you have to create the databases manually, e.g. with phpMyAdmin.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #14  
Old 14th November 2005, 13:11
rosa hsiao rosa hsiao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Have a look at MySQL's GRANT syntax: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/4.1/en/grant.html, or use phpMyAdmin to create new users.

You can't do that with ISPConfig, you have to create the databases manually, e.g. with phpMyAdmin.
When client_A is assigned only to own 5 databases in ISPConfig,what will it happen if I create over 5 databases manually for the administrator of client_A with phpmyadmin? Or there is nothing to do with database limitation in ISPConfig?
  #15  
Old 14th November 2005, 13:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,500 Times in 4,329 Posts
Default

If the databases where not created by ISPConfig you cannot limit the number in ISPConfig.
  #16  
Old 14th November 2005, 20:21
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystix
ISPConfig has his own apache and you have to make the changes in the httpd.conf of ISPConfigs apache who is located in /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/.

I think the advantage of a second webserver for the controlpanel is that the controlpanel is still rechable in case of problems with the main webserver and you can configure your own webserver the way you want and don't need to consider the special mods and configs for the controlpanel.
Is it necessary to run on a different port? Why not a subdomain?

Please note that this may not be practical: I'm just wondering why not.
  #17  
Old 14th November 2005, 22:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairydog2
Is it necessary to run on a different port? Why not a subdomain?
If both Apaches ran on the same port, they would collide (i.e., one of them would refuse to start). If they ran on the same port, but on different IP addresses, then it's possible.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #18  
Old 14th November 2005, 23:30
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If both Apaches ran on the same port, they would collide (i.e., one of them would refuse to start). If they ran on the same port, but on different IP addresses, then it's possible.
I think that different IP addresses is where I shall have to go. It's only £12 per year extra.
  #19  
Old 15th November 2005, 02:07
rosa hsiao rosa hsiao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
If the databases where not created by ISPConfig you cannot limit the number in ISPConfig.
Thanks. I think I finally figure out how ISPConfig handles with MySQL database.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessing the ISPConfig Web Page nformosa Installation/Configuration 1 9th September 2005 14:13


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.