#1  
Old 2nd March 2007, 22:10
lrider lrider is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 70
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Round Robbin

I have 2 computers running ispconfig.
Each of them have 2 ethernet connections.
Each of the connections is for a diferent internet provider.
It would be very helpfull if the dns records created by ispconfig could consider a "round-robbin" configuration.
This would give an extra extrength to the server in case one of the providers have a problem.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd March 2007, 12:40
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
 
Default

Quote:
This would give an extra extrength to the server in case one of the providers have a problem.
It doesn't. 50% of the people visiting your site will not get a connection anyway. Round-robin not automatically scwitches to an alternate IP address. There are plenty discussions on the Internet, describing how you could setup a failover environment. Having two providers and thus two routes is IMHO not a good idea.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to uninstall Round Cube that ISPConfig is using ProgressiveBastion Installation/Configuration 7 21st March 2012 16:46
About domain setup satimis Server Operation 7 16th January 2007 14:59
Round Robin DNS sonoracomm Installation/Configuration 2 2nd January 2007 05:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.