#1  
Old 1st March 2007, 00:35
devious1 devious1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how do you fix this?

I am installing the latest version of ubuntu server following the perfect setup instructions

when i type hostname i get back dmproductionsinc.hsd1.comcast.net
but when I type hostname -f Iget unknown host
I'm pretty confused. I tried following the example, replacing with my info.what to do? I am using a d-link router could this be prob?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st March 2007, 22:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

What's in /etc/hosts and /etc/hostname? Did you reboot the system?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd March 2007, 12:49
zcworld zcworld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 329
Thanks: 2
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
Send a message via MSN to zcworld Send a message via Skype™ to zcworld
 
Default

if you are doing that from inside the network
than you will look at the first device that is connected the to public IP / WAN IP
which is the router i say if you using one

if you are inside the network and wantting to use the DNS name to look at mysql server
than maybe set the DNS name to localhost IP
or use localhost than DNS.name.here.com.au
__________________
Shane Ebert :: Facebok
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I fix the databse ? linickx General 16 25th November 2006 17:08
postfix /var/log/mail error, i'd like to fix reddog Server Operation 3 7th September 2006 05:10
PHP problem ..Just installed ISP Config malikp Installation/Configuration 5 10th April 2006 12:43
Minor problem with postfix, hopefully a quick fix phantomk Server Operation 2 5th March 2006 16:21
Postfix ERROR! - Need fix for this! hagel General 12 22nd August 2005 17:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.