Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th November 2005, 18:33
alvadore alvadore is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry How can I get PHP to work after ISPConfig Install

I installed ISPConfig finally (after about ten attempts), and it seemed to work great. However, when I relocated an existing site to the web directory I found that PHP would not work, (despite enabling PHP for the site) neither would any of my existing sites (most of which are PHP, all of which are Namedvirtualhosts). So I uninstalled ISPConfig and made the necessary corrections to httpd.conf, php.conf and mime.types.

My question is this:

How can I install ISPConfig with "functioning" PHP. ISPConfig is a killer app, and I would love to be able to run it since it would save so much time and effort in managing my sites. Perhaps there are some scripts to edit afterward or a file to edit prior to installation? Please help, I'm jonsing for ISPConfig.

Thanks in advance,
Alvadore

Last edited by alvadore; 8th November 2005 at 18:55. Reason: adding specifics to avoid obvious answers to the problem
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th November 2005, 19:09
flourishing flourishing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to flourishing
Default

because the ispconfig shutoff the php .

you can create a new website and enabled php from ispconfig.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th November 2005, 19:14
alvadore alvadore is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flourishing
because the ispconfig shutoff the php .

you can create a new website and enabled php from ispconfig.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvadore
PHP would not work, (despite enabling PHP for the site)
PHP was enabled for the site, I actually tried it several times, failed to work each time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th November 2005, 19:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

From http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm:
Quote:
Important: ISPConfig is meant to be installed on new Linux installations with no web sites, so if you run a server with hundreds of web sites and need a control panel that can take care of those existing web sites, then ISPConfig is not for you!
To your question: Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1098
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th November 2005, 19:41
alvadore alvadore is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I thin the main thing I'm needing to know is how to get PHP to work in sites created by ISPConfig. Reinstalling the OS is a definite possibility, so let's not rule that out. I can move the existing sites to another server in the interim, then after reinstalling the OS and ISPConfig and creating sites, move them to their new homes.

I'm not serving "hundreds of sites" just a handfull (less than twenty). It seems like ISPConfig should be able to handle that easily.

With that in mind, if I install ISPConfig on a freshly installed system and create sites with PHP enabled, will ISPConfig support PHP on those sites?

If I do that, I'll use Fedora Core 4 and wll follow the Perfect Server setup.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th November 2005, 22:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvadore
I thin the main thing I'm needing to know is how to get PHP to work in sites created by ISPConfig.
If you have enabled PHP for the web sites in ISPConfig then PHP should work for these sites...

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvadore
I'm not serving "hundreds of sites" just a handfull (less than twenty). It seems like ISPConfig should be able to handle that easily.
It doesn't matter if it's hundreds of sites or less than twenty. The point is that you cannot import these sites into ISPConfig, unless you create new web sites in ISPConfig and copy the files from the old web sites to their new location.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvadore
With that in mind, if I install ISPConfig on a freshly installed system and create sites with PHP enabled, will ISPConfig support PHP on those sites?

If I do that, I'll use Fedora Core 4 and wll follow the Perfect Server setup.
If you follow the tutorial step-by-step, then you won't have any problems.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th November 2005, 23:23
alvadore alvadore is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If you follow the tutorial step-by-step, then you won't have any problems.
Well then, looks it's time to reinstall from scratch, make all the sites then move the existing files into place in the sites.

I'll post when comepleted.

Thanks so much for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th November 2005, 13:00
azorman azorman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1098
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th October 2007, 06:13
cmottus cmottus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default PHP doesn't work

Hi All,
I had a similar as the one previously posted. I have a clean install of ISPconfig. The mail server works great but php doesn't. I have enabled php but when I browse to a page it asks me if I want to download the file instead of running it. This has happened to me a number of times on previous installs.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th October 2007, 14:55
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,990
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,373 Times in 4,220 Posts
 
Default

Please make sure that you install mod_php as described in the perfect setup guide for your linux distribution.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP on Apache2 no longer works after ISPconfig azorman Installation/Configuration 6 23rd July 2006 22:06
Another ISPConfig install error mphayesuk General 2 6th November 2005 17:18
install successful but no ispconfig site Nu2Linux Installation/Configuration 3 3rd November 2005 23:30
Nasty time with PHP on the install dkhird Installation/Configuration 1 11th September 2005 13:09
can i install horde/imp with ispconfig Venkatesh.S Installation/Configuration 1 26th July 2005 19:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.