Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th January 2006, 19:31
jerrym jerrym is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default new to linux installing mandrake 10.2

hi guys am very very new to linux and am installing mandrake 2005 limited edition and its not the same as the screenshot displayed at the perfect setup for the mandrake 10.2 posted in the site http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_mandrake_10_2
after the first screenshot i get it as dos in text mode not the graphical but the bottom line i get the same option to fill and follow as the graphical setup but after finshing and exiting setup the system restart and it starts the boot loader with the options linux, failsafe , windows , windows1 . i choose linux and the system starts nad am asked to login i got the user name and password since i created them at the setup i log in but what next ?? isnt supose to be graphical interface ?? my question is how can i login to the graphical system ?
am sorry for this stupied question but am really new to linux this is my first time ever
tanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th January 2006, 20:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
Default

The perfect setups are server setups, server setups normally does not include a graphical login.

All steps in the howto after the basic installer is finished where done on the commandline.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd February 2007, 20:48
sarojaryal sarojaryal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Smile hey i've got the solution

I am a new linux user and i also got the same problem . And what i did was once again i formatted my Pc and installed linux but this time when it asked about a question relating to login as a server ....sth like that i checked NO. when i finished installing i got the graphical interface,

i hope it will help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux for Newbies deantn Suggest HOWTO 5 30th May 2008 15:30
The ultimate Linux Workstation killfrog Suggest HOWTO 3 25th March 2006 17:06
error while installing..... securitywonks Installation/Configuration 1 23rd December 2005 13:07
Installing ISPConfig on Mandrake using Webmin badben Installation/Configuration 4 14th October 2005 21:51
Help installing gcc on mandrake please?? badben Installation/Configuration 2 14th October 2005 19:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.