Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th December 2006, 07:23
kokpelli kokpelli is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Couple of questions about Ubuntu Vmware install

Hi I followed the guide for the VMware Server install on Ubuntu LTS.
I was already using Ubuntu LTS as a desktop - so I just used that - I din't do a Ubuntu server install.

The install went fine. I am able to install guest operating systems from CDs.

Questions:

1) Using the web interface I am not able to change options. Do I have to create a root account to do this? I only have my user account that I use with sudo.

2) Maybe I'm being an idiot, but how do you get the downloaded virtual appliances to work? I downloaded a few - I figured it would be as simple as putting them in the default directory for VMs. This didn't work.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th December 2006, 12:31
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,424
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,205 Times in 4,081 Posts
Default

1) I guess you need a root user. I did not test it without root account as I wrote the howto.

2) Have you unpacked the .zip file. Please have a look at the vmware image importing guide, it is for windows but shall work for linux as well.

http://www.howtoforge.com/import_vmware_images
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th December 2006, 13:33
kokpelli kokpelli is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Till,

I must of had a corrupt download or something. I tried the virtual appliance again and it worked fine.

Ok, with Ubuntu LTS - Do you know how to make a root account? I tried to add the user root with the gui (didn't try the CLI) and it said "that user already exists". But I never made a root account and I can't log in as root - just my normal account with sudo.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th December 2006, 13:57
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,424
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,205 Times in 4,081 Posts
 
Default

To set a password for the root account, open a shell window and switch to root with the following command:

sudo su

then use this command to set a root password:

passwd root
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMWare Server for Ubuntu Edgy Eft - Problems AEngineer Installation/Configuration 10 8th November 2007 07:46
Perfect Install - Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper Questions Anim HOWTO-Related Questions 123 1st October 2006 13:02
VMWare install on Ubuntu problem with the IP velonis HOWTO-Related Questions 10 21st September 2006 14:19
Error when following How To Install VMware Server On Ubuntu 6.06 LTS (Dapper Drake) - somas1 HOWTO-Related Questions 7 20th August 2006 14:07
VMWare Server Howto and Ubuntu Questions crudolphy HOWTO-Related Questions 11 25th July 2006 20:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.