Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th December 2006, 18:55
Craig Craig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default Multiple IPs on a single ISPConfig install?

Sorry if this has been posted but I did a search and came up with only the opposite, multiple domains on a single IP.

What I want to be able to end up doing is to provide my own DNS service without the need for two different servers running two different ISPConfigs, or even just two different servers period.

From the host of my dedicated server, I can get multiple IPs so I thought that if I could use two different IPs within ISPConfig, I could easily provide my own DNS resolution/propagation without the need for two separate servers.

Is it possible to do it within one ISPConfig install or should I just use one IP within ISPConfig and the second IP outside of ISPConfig but still on the same box?

If both within a single ISPConfig, how would I go about doing that or, is it painfully obvious and I missed it and should go do more reading?

By the way, if no one has mentioned it before, ISPConfig r000cks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th December 2006, 19:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

You can do the DNS with one ISPConfig installation, but it might be that your domain registry recognizes that there is only one server used and refuses to set the DNS to your server.

To add more IP addresses, enter them line by line in the additional IP addresses field under management > server > settings.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th December 2006, 20:48
Craig Craig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
but it might be that your domain registry recognizes that there is only one server used and refuses to set the DNS to your server.
Yes, that is exactly what is happening.
Quote:
Originally Posted by till
To add more IP addresses, enter them line by line in the additional IP addresses field under management > server > settings.
D'Oh! (Slapping forehead and feeling stupid!) I should have thought of that but didn't think it was that easy!

Thanks VERY much!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th December 2006, 21:36
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

I heard that there are some free secondary dns services. But I never used one. maybe thats a solution for your DNS problem. Or you find someone with the same problem and you provide the socondary for the domains vice versa.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th December 2006, 18:22
Craig Craig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Or you find someone with the same problem and you provide the secondary for the domains vice versa.
I don't play well with others so that's out.

Seriously though, since adding a second IP, in my situation, is about the cost of a Coca-cola, I'd be more inclined to get everything working with two IPs and two NS's and then offer others, on a limited basis, free NS.

Thanks for the suggestion though as it will likely be useful to others reading this!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Installation/Configuration 14 18th January 2009 13:41
New ISPConfig Install nubtool Installation/Configuration 15 18th May 2008 16:46
multiple IPs with one PC and ISPconfig? mac90 General 2 19th July 2006 12:52
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 25th June 2006 21:01
ISPConfig Install Error badenzer Installation/Configuration 2 23rd June 2006 00:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.