Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st May 2006, 16:47
mariojjsimoes mariojjsimoes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default VNC & KDE - connecting to the previous session in SUSE 10.1

Hello, all,

Has anyone come across this issue?
I am running SUSE 10.1 and KDE. As i don't have (and don't want to) a monitor to to connect to that computer i am using VNC to connect to my SUSE 10.1 box. However if for some reason the vnc connection is dropped i can no longer connect to that same session again.
Does anyone know of a way to do this? It is very anoying as you loose whatever unsaved work you had on that session.

Thanks in advance !

Mrio Simes
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st June 2006, 00:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I assume you might have to kill the previous VNC session on the server first.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st June 2006, 11:42
mariojjsimoes mariojjsimoes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default That doesn't solve the main issue...

Thanks for your reply.

In deed, this is a way clear up resources and not to leave the session running.

But in fact what i wanted is a way to continue working where i left off.

Something like when you attach to console (mstsc /console) in windows xp running remote desktop connection. Basically, if you abruptly close a session, when you connect back you attach to same session again.

Does anyone know how to do this?

Thanks!

Mario Simoes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st June 2006, 17:11
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariojjsimoes
Does anyone know how to do this?
I have no idea. Maybe the VNC documentation knows something about this?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th December 2006, 13:11
psychojoy psychojoy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Arrow

I have the same problem!

Did anyone solve this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Support for SUSE 10.1 - when? UfaDaniil General 6 23rd May 2006 09:37
Update Suse 10 to 10.1 mphayesuk General 2 22nd May 2006 17:28
connecting to the internet suse 10 sgilbert33 HOWTO-Related Questions 2 26th March 2006 06:03
Website users? ctroyp General 25 6th January 2006 18:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.