Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Developers' Forum

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th October 2005, 13:55
yayien yayien is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Paris
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to yayien Send a message via Yahoo to yayien
Default Why php as an apache module??

All is in the title... I don't understand why you run php as an apache module whereas we can use cgi and so run each php script by his owner so simply...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th October 2005, 17:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

You can run PHP as cgi. Simply check CGI in the web site settings, and if you have configured PHP as cgi, it should work.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th October 2005, 18:02
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,573
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,980 Times in 3,901 Posts
Default

Generally PHP is faster with apache mod_php, the drawback is that everything runs under the permissions of the webserver user. A solution might be the use of suphp. Does anyone tried this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th October 2005, 23:35
yayien yayien is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Paris
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to yayien Send a message via Yahoo to yayien
Default

yes me under debian but not with the package because it is too permissive so I compiled it..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th October 2005, 11:44
Spum Spum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm, yeah - but there are some advantages to running PHP as an apache module, mainly because of the integration, and also that it's handled by apache, as opposed to having to pass arguments through the binary.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th October 2005, 18:40
yayien yayien is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Paris
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to yayien Send a message via Yahoo to yayien
Default

Yes but php scripts will not be run by apache user, but by the currently user..(because under apache there is a big exploit with uploading scripts..)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th October 2005, 18:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,573
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,980 Times in 3,901 Posts
 
Default

Maybe we shall have a look at suPHP. This enables PHP to run under individual users with the good integration and fast execution of mod_php.

The website of the project is:

http://www.suphp.org/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP not working jefash General 10 28th May 2006 08:48
Php with Apache rights, not vhost rights BenDaDon Installation/Configuration 3 8th January 2006 18:24
double apache installation (with php) aolex Installation/Configuration 3 19th October 2005 17:04
apache , mysql and php aolex Server Operation 4 15th October 2005 20:19
Apache + PHP lola Server Operation 1 25th April 2005 13:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.