Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th November 2006, 23:08
baxy77bax baxy77bax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Desktop resolution on VMware

Hi,
I got this little problem. I have instaled corell linux 1.2 (debian) on my virtual machine and is working "quite fine" but my problem is that i can only see the upper right corner of the desktop and I don't know how to fix it to see the whole screan. in fact I don't know if this is a problem with linux or VMware.
it looks like this: attachment

thanks

bax
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th November 2006, 10:22
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,158
Thanks: 4
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Have you installed VMWare Tools?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th November 2006, 15:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Corel Linux is quite old (this distribution doesn't exist anymore...), so I think that's the reason.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th November 2006, 21:41
baxy77bax baxy77bax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks

thanx,

the problem was that I have totally forgot to install VM tools. it works ok now . but i can see that it is quite old too. i'm looking for something free, new and fast, so i'm open for suggestions.

bax
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th November 2006, 23:37
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,158
Thanks: 4
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
Default

well, what do you need it for?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th November 2006, 10:31
baxy77bax baxy77bax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm trying to run a "Interpro scan" (kind of a protein search program) which runs only on Linux. also I should be able to create easy and stable connection with other computers to run parallel jobs on them. so it should be something stable, fast, free and easy to create network with.

bax
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th November 2006, 11:40
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,158
Thanks: 4
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Does it need to have a desktop?

And what do you mean with "fast"?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th November 2006, 17:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

If you need a desktop I'd recommend Ubuntu or Xubuntu. Xubuntu should need fewer resources than Ubuntu.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th November 2006, 18:50
baxy77bax baxy77bax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it doesn't need to have desktop, but I prefer it. by fast i meant that it does not require a lot of computer resources.

Xubunt looks ok, I'll try it.

thanx

bax
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th November 2006, 13:45
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,158
Thanks: 4
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
 
Default

If there is no desktop required just go for Debian Sarge...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMWare Server for Ubuntu Edgy Eft - Problems AEngineer Installation/Configuration 10 8th November 2007 08:46
Screen Resolution Problem BillDougy Desktop Operation 4 22nd September 2006 18:15
VMWare install on Ubuntu problem with the IP velonis HOWTO-Related Questions 10 21st September 2006 15:19
VMWare Server Howto and Ubuntu Questions crudolphy HOWTO-Related Questions 11 25th July 2006 21:11
djbdns in redhat enterprise 4 update 2 under vmware. Layn Installation/Configuration 1 15th March 2006 12:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.