#1  
Old 18th October 2005, 18:11
BlueStream BlueStream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DNS Server questions

Hi there...

I'd like to use the inbuilt DNS feature that ISPConfig has to be a DNS Server.. But when i point to the server, 192.168.1.98 as a DNS in my TCP/IP config, it always fails to resolve anything...

I dunnoe if that's what the DNS is meant to do in this case.

Sort of what i'm trying to do is this. This DNS Server will resolve the subdomain for my domain (I'm guessing these are what NSes are for.. still newb...)

I also want to be able to use that DNS Server from a workstation to resolve any addresses that i want to resolve including those from my domain and when it comes to those domains that i do not own, it will forward it to another external DNS server, like the ones from my ISP.

I did something like this before on a Windows platform so it's really all very fuzzy to me rite now with Linux.. Query Forwarding, Query something, Forwarding something.. something like that.. i forgot the name... heehee
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th October 2005, 19:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueStream
I'd like to use the inbuilt DNS feature that ISPConfig has to be a DNS Server.. But when i point to the server, 192.168.1.98 as a DNS in my TCP/IP config, it always fails to resolve anything...
Maybe a firewall is blocking port 53 on your DNS server...
On the DNS server's shell, when you run
Code:
dig @localhost oneofyourdomains.com
do you see an answer section?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th October 2005, 19:47
BlueStream BlueStream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

yup.. thanx bro..

I do see an answer section... for all of my domains..
and port 53 isn't blocked.. Checked it out thru the port scan ISPConfig has..

I tried putting what i believe is a catchall symbol, the @ sign as my A Name
then i put www as my CNAME and pointed it towards the A Name with the @ sign.

For my domains, it's all virtual at the moment, oni one of the domains has been purchased... For the purchased one in this LAN environment, anything other than www.domain.tld or domain.tld will somehow point back to the real, external IP where the real domain points to...

What happened to the catchall symbol?

For the other unpurchased domains, only unpurchaseddomain.tld points my browser to the webhost regardless of wat i put in the ISPConfig's DNS Management thingy.. www.unpurchaseddomain.tld does not work.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Setup Behind a Router/Firewall/Cable Modem kisong Installation/Configuration 2 1st August 2010 18:05
Server Hostname and IPSConfig Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 2 14th October 2005 13:46
ISPConfig and separate machines pfm.smits Installation/Configuration 1 11th October 2005 16:09
Server can't "see" the internet Luciano Installation/Configuration 8 23rd August 2005 00:22
Maildir / Server Settings m u r Installation/Configuration 3 18th August 2005 11:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.