Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 14th October 2006, 15:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Then there seems to be a problem with your IPs, with the routing, firewalls, etc...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 17th October 2006, 10:46
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yes, I've discovered that I'd forgotten to update /etc/network/interfaces What will I need to restart after changing that?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18th October 2006, 10:31
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

You must restart the networking.

On Debian it is:

/etc/init.d/networking restart
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 3rd August 2008, 02:39
3DPeruna 3DPeruna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 50
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Ubuntu - ISPConfig - Magically Changing IP addresses

I've recently changed the IP address, in all the suggested places I hope, on my ISPConfig server. However, a very odd thing is happening. Some of the IP in the /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhost_ispconfig.conf file revert back to the old file. I'll change them, modify seemingly unrelated items in the ISPConfig admin and the Vhost file is back where it was, but for only some of the IP addresses.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 3rd August 2008, 10:59
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

Please open the configuration of these sites in ISPConfig and click on the save button.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 9th February 2010, 01:40
patrick3853 patrick3853 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I recently changed the IP addresses of a server running ISPConfig 2 and stumbled upon this thread. Since the server was hosting many sites, I was looking for a more effecient way to update the IP for all the sites in ISPConfig. Thought I would share my solution in case anyone else has this issue.

Please note: this worked for me on ISPConfig 2 running on Ubuntu 8.10. Location of config files my be different depending on your system.

After you change the IP on the system, log into ISPConfig and replace the IP address under Management > Server > Settings. Then replace the IP address in config files:

xxx.xxx.x.xx represents new IP
yyy.yyy.y.yy represents old IP

Bind9
Code:
perl -pi -e 's/yyy\.yyy\.y\.yy/xxx.xxx.x.xx/g' /var/lib/named/etc/bind/*
Apache
Code:
perl -pi -e 's/yyy\.yyy\.y\.yy/xxx.xxx.x.xx/g' /etc/apache2/vhosts/*
Now, log into MySQL, use the ispconfig database, and run the following queries to update the IP in ISPConfig:

DNS Manager
Code:
UPDATE dns_a SET ip_adresse = 'xxx.xxx.x.xx';
UPDATE dns_isp_dns SET dns_soa_ip = 'xxx.xxx.x.xx';
ISP Manager
Code:
UPDATE isp_isp_web SET web_ip = 'xxx.xxx.x.xx';
UPDATE isp_isp_domain SET domain_ip = 'xxx.xxx.x.xx';
Of course, you will need to restart apache and bind. Now all sites should load and when you log into ISPConfig you will see the new IP for each site and all your DNS records. Go to one of your sites under ISP Manager, make a minor change and hit save so that ISPConfig rewrites the config files. Then verify that ISPConfig is using the new IP and you're good to go.
Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to patrick3853 For This Useful Post:
Blinkiz (22nd March 2010), cambo (14th April 2011), falko (9th February 2010), pakogah (10th February 2010), till (9th February 2010)
  #17  
Old 23rd September 2010, 11:22
Grey Grey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 70
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
Default

I did the perl ones, too. But if you do that while transferring to another rack, datacenter or even another machine, you can ease up the DB bit.

I just dumped the db_ispconfig db with all necessary parameters (encoding etc.), did the perl one-liner again (on the sql file) and just reinserted it. It' fast and you even have a backup consisting the new IPs in it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 17th July 2012, 03:34
defconjuan defconjuan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
 
Default

Any similar info for ISPConfig3? I'm successfully through moving a server and have some useful info but don't want to double post.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.