#1  
Old 18th September 2006, 14:30
thim thim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 34
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb Yum or apt-get install question

I have since a while a local linux (centos) server running.

I used to install all the software packages from source but since my last format i switched to the YUM INSTALL method.

I works all great and easy, but i have a question.
Yum install practically always places everything in the /etc directory.
ex: /etc/http
Also a lot of the config files are dropped under the /etc dir. This makes it all a bit unstructered and chaotic.

While in the past using the source install method, i could personnaly choose where the software would be installed. I could structurize my server which made it much more easier to manage.
Ex: alle the software packages i installed in /usr/local/soft/
and alle libs in /usr/local/libs

Is there a manner so i could install the software using yum or apt-get in which i can choose the installation directory?

Because on of the plus features of yum or apt-get is that the can be maintained and updated very easy. Something that enhances the security of the server.

Any help or suggestion are welcome

Grtz Thim
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th September 2006, 15:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thim
Is there a manner so i could install the software using yum or apt-get in which i can choose the installation directory?
No, that isn't possible.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th September 2006, 15:49
thim thim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 34
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Isn't there a away of using yum to get the src rpms?
So i can compile the rpms in a manner i want and do they still get updated then?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th September 2006, 17:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thim
Isn't there a away of using yum to get the src rpms?
No, you have to download the srpms yourself...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quota question on perfect install fedora core 5.0 bmayock HOWTO-Related Questions 7 6th July 2006 13:20
Perfect FC 5 Install Question PortMan Installation/Configuration 1 16th June 2006 01:40
Xen Ubuntu VM Install Question witless1 HOWTO-Related Questions 5 3rd May 2006 15:42
Fedora Core 5 x64 Perfect Install Question? gjcomputer Installation/Configuration 1 26th April 2006 09:27
novice question.. I gave wrong IP for install, how to change? amoswright Installation/Configuration 8 12th January 2006 11:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.