Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th September 2006, 15:40
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,146
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Default Box: Ubuntu - VmWare: Win XP

Hiya

I finally thought why not moving completely to Ubuntu (while I only use Windows for things like a/v Skype, Photoshop and a few other things). The idea came I could setup VmWare on my Ubuntu Box and have a Win XP install there.

Well, said and done however I have problems with the network.

I'm using a wifi with a 128bit encryption (at least for the moment as I'm not in my home). My address is 192.168.1.39 and when I start the VmWare WinXP it gets assigned by DHCP 192.168.1.42.
Problem is that the inet connection in VmWare doesn't work. I can ping my Ubuntu box (192.168.1.39) but nothing else.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th September 2006, 15:51
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

What connectionmethod do you have for your VM Machine?
Bridged or NAT?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th September 2006, 15:55
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,146
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Default

I used Briged... when I changed to NAT vmware even refused to activate the card...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th September 2006, 20:17
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,146
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Default

With NAT instead of Briged it just works fine
I first had to configure NAT ^^
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th September 2006, 16:47
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,146
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Now I have another problem: why can't I access any USB device? the reason for me to install it was mainly so that I can use my webcam and bt headset which I can't get to run in ubuntu and use it on skype
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th September 2006, 20:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

I think a virtual machine can use only the hardware for which the host operating system has drivers.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error when following How To Install VMware Server On Ubuntu 6.06 LTS (Dapper Drake) - somas1 HOWTO-Related Questions 7 20th August 2006 14:07
vmware on ubuntu 6.06 jhz HOWTO-Related Questions 6 2nd August 2006 22:10
VMWare Server Howto and Ubuntu Questions crudolphy HOWTO-Related Questions 11 25th July 2006 20:11
Ubuntu setup using SSH LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 9 16th April 2006 16:11
Is there a testing procedure for ISPConfig? deezone Installation/Configuration 14 22nd January 2006 19:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.