Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th August 2006, 17:59
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,044
Thanks: 269
Thanked 154 Times in 133 Posts
Default server reached MaxClient settings, consider raising the MaxClients setting

My Apache2 sometimes gets really slow..

Looking at the log file it's showing server reached MaxClient settings, consider raising the MaxClients setting at the times apache is slow, so I guess that this is causing the slowdown.

After some googling I found this.

The problem now is that I do not have MaxClients in the /etc/apache2/httpd.conf , but I do have it in /etc/apache2/apache2.conf

In apache2.conf I have to times a MaxClients!

Code:
<IfModule prefork.c>
StartServers 50
MinSpareServers 50
MaxSpareServers 200
MaxClients 256
MaxRequestsPerChild 1
</IfModule>

<IfModule worker.c>
StartServers         2
MaxClients         150 
MinSpareThreads     25
MaxSpareThreads     75
ThreadsPerChild     25
MaxRequestsPerChild  0
</IfModule>

Do I need to set both MaxClients, or do I need to add a MaxClients to the httpd.conf?

Also. The server (Debain Sarge 3.1) has 4GB of memory.. Will a MacClients of lets say 1000 be okay?

Last edited by edge; 14th August 2006 at 18:19.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th August 2006, 17:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edge
Do I need to set both MaxClients
I guess you use prefork (as most installations do), so set it in the prefork stanza.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edge
or do I need to add a MaxClients to the httpd.conf?
No, httpd.conf is included in apache2.conf, so there's no need to set it in httpd.conf.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edge
Also. The server (Debain Sarge 3.1) has 4GB of memory.. Will a MacClients of lets say 1000 be okay?
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...ght=MaxClients
Normally, the upperl imit for MaxClients is 256. If you need a higher value, you must also set ServerLimit.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 06:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 13:19
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 19:12
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 11:01
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 03:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.