#11  
Old 28th July 2006, 09:56
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,234
Thanks: 69
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Default

how to setup the diskio module if I have raid running?

the how-to states this:

Quote:
-----command-----
cat /proc/stat |grep disk_io
-----command-----

It is going to report something like this

disk_io: (8,0)14081770,10200468,182341484,3881302,1004096 78) (8,1)703,442,15844,261,3586)

Edit the disk_io config file

-----command-----
pico -w mod_diskio
-----command-----

At the bottom add:

DEV=8_0,sda
DEV=8_1,sda

If your system has something other then the (8,0) and (8,1) as listed above make sure to put that in the config above. Again, to save and exit press [ctrl -x] Y then [enter]. At the prompt type.
now if I do:
Quote:
cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [raid1]
md0 : active raid1 hda1[0] hdc1[1]
497856 blocks [2/2] [UU]

md1 : active raid1 hda3[0] hdc3[1]
79417216 blocks [2/2] [UU]
so how would the lines look like?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 28th July 2006, 10:18
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,234
Thanks: 69
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Default

furthermore I cannot get it running with rrdtool 1.2.14 - when running ./diagrams.pl I get the following errors for each module:

Quote:
----- modules/traffic -----
creating images for eth0 ...
Use of uninitialized value in print at ./diagrams.pl line 148 (#1)
(W uninitialized) An undefined value was used as if it were already
defined. It was interpreted as a "" or a 0, but maybe it was a mistake.
To suppress this warning assign a defined value to your variables.

To help you figure out what was undefined, perl tells you what operation
you used the undefined value in. Note, however, that perl optimizes your
program and the operation displayed in the warning may not necessarily
appear literally in your program. For example, "that $foo" is
usually optimized into "that " . $foo, and the warning will refer to
the concatenation (.) operator, even though there is no . in your
program.

hour x /var/www/web1/web/serverstats/traffic/eth0-hour.gif
Use of uninitialized value in printf at ./diagrams.pl line 220 (#1)
6 hours 0x0 /var/www/web1/web/serverstats/traffic/eth0-6h.gif
day 0x0 /var/www/web1/web/serverstats/traffic/eth0-day.gif
week 0x0 /var/www/web1/web/serverstats/traffic/eth0-week.gif
month 0x0 /var/www/web1/web/serverstats/traffic/eth0-month.gif
year 0x0 /var/www/web1/web/serverstats/traffic/eth0-year.gif
and no images and neither thumbnails get created.
Any ideas? if not I will have to convert back to rrdtool 1.xxx
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28th July 2006, 11:03
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

I only had such an error when no data was gathered, e.g. I still have that for ping, because that won't work...

But normally setting up Hotsanic is quite easy.
Copying anywhere, dfining webroot, binary for rrd (compiling it, locating with find / locate), install Imagemagickmodule from CPAN for Perl oder Imagemagick, configure needed services, start...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28th July 2006, 11:06
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizzly
Would just like to know if this would also go for a suse 10 server with ispconfig, just got my server up and running. Thanks Falco & Till
(is it safe?)
As mentioned before, it is quite easy. I think it is independent to the fact which or even if you are using any controlpanel.

I just installed it on my debian, but the devel packets zlib etc. did not really work so I compiled the necessary stuff for rrd manually... just keep in mind updating them and recompiling rrd manually in case of securityfixes for them
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28th July 2006, 11:29
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,234
Thanks: 69
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Default

@ BEN

maybe you can help me, I first followed this guide http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~oetiker/we...dbuild.en.html from rrdtool and everything worked ok, as far as I understand, I had to install freetype2 and 2-3 other packages with apt-get but everything worked out.
Then I continued with this guide: http://www.eth0.us/hotsanic and started setting up all modules.

I have to mention that I set up hotsanic severall times by now on different machines and I can get it running with an older version of rrdtool.

with the latest version, when I start ./diagrams.pl I get the error I mentioned above and I do not know what settings to input in the disk_io module as the examples are only about sda and hda and I have raid configured.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 28th July 2006, 11:46
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

But you get that on all modules or not?
So how long did you wait after starting rrdgraph and running diagrams.pl?

what happens if you start rrdgraph and then take a look with tail -f
at the logs of hotsanic?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 28th July 2006, 12:14
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,234
Thanks: 69
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Default

the error happens when running ./diagrams

I waited more than 1 hour. the logfile output is this:

Quote:
Use of uninitialized value in concatenation (.) or string at
./platform/default.pm line 17 (#1)
(W uninitialized) An undefined value was used as if it were already
defined. It was interpreted as a "" or a 0, but maybe it was a mistake.
To suppress this warning assign a defined value to your variables.

To help you figure out what was undefined, perl tells you what operation
you used the undefined value in. Note, however, that perl optimizes your
program and the operation displayed in the warning may not necessarily
appear literally in your program. For example, "that $foo" is
usually optimized into "that " . $foo, and the warning will refer to
the concatenation (.) operator, even though there is no . in your
program.

Can't exec "stats": No such file or directory at ./platform/default.pm line 17 (#2)
(W exec) A system(), exec(), or piped open call could not execute the
named program for the indicated reason. Typical reasons include: the
permissions were wrong on the file, the file wasn't found in
$ENV{PATH}, the executable in question was compiled for another
architecture, or the #! line in a script points to an interpreter that
can't be run for similar reasons. (Or maybe your system doesn't support
#! at all.)

Use of uninitialized value in open at ./platform/default.pm line 20 (#1)
Use of uninitialized value in concatenation (.) or string at
./platform/default.pm line 20 (#1)
Uncaught exception from user code:
cannot open : No such file or directory at ./platform/default.pm line 20.
HotSaNICmod::init('start', 'bind') called at ./read-data.pl line 10
Use of uninitialized value in concatenation (.) or string at
./platform/default.pm line 17 (#1)
(W uninitialized) An undefined value was used as if it were already
defined. It was interpreted as a "" or a 0, but maybe it was a mistake.
To suppress this warning assign a defined value to your variables.

To help you figure out what was undefined, perl tells you what operation
you used the undefined value in. Note, however, that perl optimizes your
program and the operation displayed in the warning may not necessarily
appear literally in your program. For example, "that $foo" is
usually optimized into "that " . $foo, and the warning will refer to
the concatenation (.) operator, even though there is no . in your
program.

Can't exec "stats": No such file or directory at ./platform/default.pm line 17 (#2)
(W exec) A system(), exec(), or piped open call could not execute the
named program for the indicated reason. Typical reasons include: the
permissions were wrong on the file, the file wasn't found in
$ENV{PATH}, the executable in question was compiled for another
architecture, or the #! line in a script points to an interpreter that
can't be run for similar reasons. (Or maybe your system doesn't support
#! at all.)

Use of uninitialized value in open at ./platform/default.pm line 20 (#1)
if I start .rrdgraph and have a look at it with tail I also get these errors:

Quote:
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `root.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `cmd.exe.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682 WORMS warn: : unable to update `default.ida.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081682: TRAFFIC: unable to update `eth0.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 APPS: unable to update 'sshd.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 APPS: unable to update 'mysqld.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 APPS: unable to update 'proftpd.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 APPS: unable to update 'apache2.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 APPS: unable to update 'spamassassin.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 SYSTEM: unable to update cpu.rrd: can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 SYSTEM: unable to update load.rrd: can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 SYSTEM: nable to update proc.rrd: can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 SYSTEM: nable to update `mem.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 SYSTEM: nable to update users.rrd: can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 SYSTEM: unable to update `irq.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 SYSTEM: unable to update uptime.rrd: can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081690 MAILQ: unable to update `queue.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081691 PART: unable to update `_dev_md1.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081691 PART: unable to update `_dev_md0.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081691 NETSTAT: unable to update `connections.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
1154081691: TRAFFIC: unable to update `eth0.rrd': can't handle RRD file version 0003
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28th July 2006, 12:39
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

What happens if you stop rrdgraph, delete / move these rrds and restart rrdgraph so that it writes othter rrds?

If if does not help, maybe you will find some helpfull links on that here: http://www.google.de/search?hl=de&q=...le-Suche&meta=
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 28th July 2006, 13:57
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,234
Thanks: 69
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Default

I deleted all *.rrd files but the result is the same. any other idea? if not I am going to use an older rrdtool version.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 28th July 2006, 14:17
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
 
Default

I'm using on a CentOS machine 1.2.11 on an RHEL4 1.2.12 without any problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.