#1  
Old 13th July 2006, 03:33
servertime servertime is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default server in the basement?

Hello!

Can I host www.buffetflats.com(GoDaddy) from my
computer, even if its behind the router and without having a static IPaddress?

I have an old Pentium 2 Dell computer with a 4 Gig hard drive. Its connected to a Linksys Broadband Router with my other computer.

The P2 has Debian and I have used some of these -

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiny_web_servers -

and they work on the local network.

Can I use GoDaddy's Nameservers to point www.buffetflats.com to my P2 on a Dynamic IP(that does not change that much) behind my router?

Can you help me??? - Thanks!

Last edited by servertime; 14th July 2006 at 04:43.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th July 2006, 11:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by servertime
Can I use GoDaddy's Nameservers to point www.buffetflats.com to my P2 on a Dynamic IP(that does not change that much) behind my router?
Not with A records, because you'd have to change the IP address in the records whenever your IP address changes. But you can get yourself a dyndns.org address (your router should be able to update the dydns.org address), and then you can create a CNAME record for www.buffetflats.com at GoDaddy which points to your dyndns.org domain.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th July 2006, 14:44
Tortanick Tortanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Dont forget you'll have to forward ports to your server, port 80 is the defualt HTTP.

And of course make sure your server is updated and secure so it can't be hacked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 06:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 13:19
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 11:50
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 11:01
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 03:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.