Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd September 2005, 00:40
AlexCunha AlexCunha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default ISPconfig 2.0.9 fails on openSuse 10 rc1

Hi,

ISPconfig is a great solution ! Congratulations.

Im trying install ISPconfig on my openSuse 10 rc1.

I follow all steps as described on the howto.

Seems the apache 1.3 makes sucefully. In the screen I got:
Quote:
+--------------------------------------------------------+
| You now have successfully built and installed the |
| Apache 1.3 HTTP server. To verify that Apache actually |
| works correctly you now should first check the |
| (initially created or preserved) configuration files |
| |
| /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
| |
| and then you should be able to immediately fire up |
| Apache the first time by running: |
| |
| /root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl start
| |
| Or when you want to run it with SSL enabled use: |
| |
| /root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl startssl
| |
| Thanks for using Apache. The Apache Group |
| http://www.apache.org/ |
+--------------------------------------------------------+
As you I see the install dir is /root/ispconfig/httpd

But if i do a "ls /root/ispconfig/" the directory ispconfig doest exist !

I do "mkdir /root/isconfig".

Setup continues ...
Quote:
Do you accept the licence? [y/n]y

Checking the syntax of the httpd.conf...
./setup2: line 617: httpd: command not found
ERROR: The syntax of your httpd.conf is not ok! Please correct the error. The installation routine stops here!
susedez:/sources/install_ispconfig #
and stops.

Then i restart ./setup and ...

Quote:
########## WEB SERVER ##########
which: no httpd in (/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/libexec)
which: no apache in (/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/libexec)
which: no apache2 in (/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/libexec)
Checking for program httpd...
which: no httpd in (/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/libexec)
/usr/sbin/httpd2
OK
Checking the syntax of the httpd.conf...
httpd: could not open document config file /etc/apache2/sysconfig.d/include.conf
ERROR: The syntax of your httpd.conf is not ok! Please correct the error. The installation routine stops here!
I have repeted the ./setup but it fails here everytime.

What can I do ?

alex cunha
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AlexCunha For This Useful Post:
AbannyvabVask (17th December 2013)
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd September 2005, 02:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexCunha
As you I see the install dir is /root/ispconfig/httpd

But if i do a "ls /root/ispconfig/" the directory ispconfig doest exist !

I do "mkdir /root/isconfig".
I guess you opened a second shell window during the installation and ran
Code:
ls /root/ispconfig
there. Thing is ISPConfig installs the Apache under /root/ispconfig, but then makes a tar.gz of the directory and deletes the directory afterwards because the installer needs this tar.gz. Later on in the installation process the directory is recreated.
By running
Code:
mkdir /root/isconfig
you are interfering with the installation routine! Don't do this!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexCunha
Setup continues ...

and stops.

Then i restart ./setup and ...



I have repeted the ./setup but it fails here everytime.

What can I do ?

alex cunha
You've repeated the setup without deleting the directory install_ispconfig before! You can't install twice from the same install_ispconfig directory. Delete the directory, unpack ISPConfig again, then uninstall your current ISPConfig installation:
Code:
/root/ispconfig/uninstall
(if that command fails, run the following two commands:
Code:
rm -fr /root/ispconfig
rm -fr /home/admispconfig
)
Then go to the install_ispconfig directory and run setup again:
Code:
cd install_ispconfig
./setup
(BTW, if you search a little bit in the forums you'll find a lot of similar threads... )
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th September 2005, 04:19
AlexCunha AlexCunha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi Falko,

Many thanks for your help.

I have followed your instructions to remove the previous ispconfig installation.

Before restart ./setup, have installed apache2 and php4.4 using yast

I dont need this setup, because apache2 doest fit my needs.

Repeating the ./setup:

Quote:
which: no httpd in (/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/libexec)
which: no apache in (/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/libexec)
which: no apache2 in (/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/libexec)
Checking for program httpd...
which: no httpd in (/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/local/libexec)
/usr/sbin/httpd2
OK
Checking the syntax of the httpd.conf...
Syntax OK
The syntax is ok!
Seems ispconfig is not finding apache 1.33 but only apache2 (installed with yast, but I dont want this version)
Quote:
(BTW, if you search a little bit in the forums you'll find a lot of similar threads... )
Im sorry,but regarding this situation I dont find

Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th September 2005, 05:23
AlexCunha AlexCunha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Is detecting apache 1.3 now.
Just removed ispconfig and restarted ./setup again.

Quote:
su
/root/ispconfig/uninstall
rm -fr /root/ispconfig
rm -fr /home/admispconfig
./setup


########## WEB SERVER ##########

Checking for program httpd...
/usr/sbin/httpd
OK
Checking the syntax of the httpd.conf...
Syntax OK
The syntax is ok!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo start developing ISPConfig till Developers' Forum 18 25th April 2014 21:43
ISPConfig 2.0.9 released till General 41 16th October 2005 18:49
ISPConfig 2.0.8 released till General 6 29th August 2005 11:43
Changing values on ISPConfig installation Luciano Installation/Configuration 4 17th August 2005 00:32


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.