#1  
Old 30th June 2006, 11:07
SupuS SupuS is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 202
Thanks: 68
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Default Webalizer stats encoding

Hi All

I have problem with pages generated by webalizer. I cannot figure it to right encoding seting. On my Ubuntu Dapper I have set cs_CZ.utf8 as system locale and I put:

Code:
HTMLHead <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html" charset="utf-8">
to /etc/webalizer.conf but without success .. the better what I reached was bad special czech chars (žčůř) with utf-8. With iso-8859-2 (czech iso encoding) it was worse than utf-8. It look like the used font is not able show special chars but if I change it in FF webdewelop html edit to arial for example it is same ... Where I can set default encoding for webalizer? In webalizer.conf I didn't find any useful.

Any idea?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th June 2006, 12:35
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,389 Times in 4,234 Posts
Default

/etc/webalizer.conf is not used by ISPConfig.

Please edit the file:

/root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/webalizer.conf
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st July 2006, 11:32
SupuS SupuS is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 202
Thanks: 68
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Default

So I changed /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/webalizer.conf too and the problem remains ... In source code of stat page are directives from both conf files .. from /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/webalizer.conf and /etc/webalizer.conf anyway ... Unfortunately I cannot play more with it because I have to wait for reload whole day

I don't know if this problem is realy with webalizer .. maybe is something wrong in my system locale setting ... but webalizer stats is in czech .. only special chars are missing ... I have no idea how to fix it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st July 2006, 12:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

It could have something to do with your Apache configuration. Have a look here: http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/mod/mod_mime.html
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/mod...rset_lite.html
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st July 2006, 23:52
SupuS SupuS is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 202
Thanks: 68
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Default

My apache configuration seems right .. Every other pages on my server are in utf-8 charset encoding and without encoding problems .. uff .. ubuntu makes me mad ... unfortunately I cannot get up ISPConfig on my gentoo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd July 2006, 18:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Did you compare the <head></head> section of your working and the non-working pages?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd July 2006, 21:10
SupuS SupuS is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 202
Thanks: 68
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Yes .. this problem is somewhere in system .. I have problem with charset encoding in console too .. National specific chars are not displayed corectly .. I have to switch to another encoding by export LANG if I need work with vim for example .. Before upgrade in previous version of ubuntu console was ok .. unfortunately I dont't know if stats were ok too .. New system seems to have problem with cs_CZ.utf8 encoding ..
Second thing why I think it is system problem - If I switch another charset display in konqueror display menu I am not able to find correct encoding for stat page ... here is what I found on the net:

Quote:
Re: [webalizer] webalizer localization


You should first attempt to change the encoding type that gets declared
in the HTML code. You have to change the HTMLHead keyword of
webalizer.conf. Change the encoding from iso-8859-1 to some encoding
that allows you to see well your page.

You can see which encoding you need in Internet Explorer, in the "View"
menu, click on "encoding" and try all the encodings there to see if it
can solve the problem by simply changing the encoding.



--- Marek Simon <simon@...> wrote:

> I have czech webalizer and I want to see my webalizer stats in czech.
>
> The webalizer does it, but there are questionmarks instead the czech
> letters. Including charts. I think, the libraries the webalizer is
> using, are not localised. I have Debian Sarge. Can somebody advice
> me,
> which libraries should I change and how?
> Marek
>
but without solution .. Ubuntu comunity is not so great as gentoo .. I cannot find solution on their forum ..

Last edited by SupuS; 2nd July 2006 at 21:12.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd July 2006, 10:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SupuS
Yes .. this problem is somewhere in system .. I have problem with charset encoding in console too .. National specific chars are not displayed corectly .. I have to switch to another encoding by export LANG if I need work with vim for example ..
You can set and export LANG in /etc/profile. You need then to log out and in again so that it can work.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th July 2006, 14:07
SupuS SupuS is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 202
Thanks: 68
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I know what to do if I want change system encoding .. this directives is in /etc/enviroment. Locale what I need is cs_CZ.UTF-8 and I have it set but it doesn't work as it should. It affect me only .. it is not so horrible but I need webstats in czech for users. They don't like strange chars on page
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th July 2013, 11:56
Ark74 Ark74 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Thumbs up Answer

The error was simple:
Edit webalizer.conf but instead of add,
Code:
HTMLHead <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html" charset="utf-8">
it is;
Code:
HTMLHead <meta http-equiv="Content-type" content="text/html;charset=UTF-8">
And you are all set. It worked for me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force the creation of Webalizer stats? Anim Installation/Configuration 8 23rd July 2013 08:55
Howto: Make Webalizer show full QueryString!! Zoon Tips/Tricks/Mods 1 5th November 2007 02:12
Webalizer not updated since 01 Jan 06? Zoon General 24 22nd March 2006 20:29
view webalizer stats kuyaedz General 22 12th March 2006 14:45
webalizer and logrotate damaskinos Server Operation 4 24th November 2005 23:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.