#1  
Old 14th June 2013, 17:50
jaypabs jaypabs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default FastCGI vs PHP-FPM Settings

Since I am new to ISPConfig, I am exploring around at the Sites >> Web Domain >> Options and found out there is a settings for "Use Socket For PHP-FPM" which is set to false by default.

I believe that when it is set to false, it is using FastCgi, but when set to true, it is using PHP-FPM. So my question is which is better between this two? FastCGI vs PHP-FPM?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th June 2013, 06:42
jaypabs jaypabs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Anybody with experience between the two? Which is better and which is faster? FastCGI or PHP-FPM?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th June 2013, 09:21
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,070
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,396 Times in 4,240 Posts
Default

Quote:
I believe that when it is set to false, it is using FastCgi, but when set to true, it is using PHP-FPM.
No, thats not the case. When it is set to false and you selecetd php-fpm as php mode, then php will communicate with apache over a tcp port, if it is set to true, a socket will be used instead.

Quote:
So my question is which is better between this two? FastCGI vs PHP-FPM?
php-fpm is a modern reimplementation of the php fastcgi interface, it offers more config options and might be a bit faster then fastcgi.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th June 2013, 11:52
jaypabs jaypabs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the reply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
No, thats not the case. When it is set to false and you selecetd php-fpm as php mode, then php will communicate with apache over a tcp port, if it is set to true, a socket will be used instead.
When it is uncheck the value in the vhost file is this:

fastcgi_pass 127.0.0.1:9019;

When it is check the value is something like this:

fastcgi_pass unix:/var/lib/php5-fpm/web9.sock;

Is this means that I am still using PHP-FPM? If yes, what is the difference between the two? And which one is better?

And how to I know if I am using php-fpm as php mode?

Quote:
php-fpm is a modern reimplementation of the php fastcgi interface, it offers more config options and might be a bit faster then fastcgi.
Thanks. I will using php-fpm in this case.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th June 2013, 12:01
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,070
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,396 Times in 4,240 Posts
Default

Quote:
Is this means that I am still using PHP-FPM?
yes.

Quote:
If yes, what is the difference between the two?
I described that above.

Quote:
And which one is better?
I woul use sockets.

Quote:
And how to I know if I am using php-fpm as php mode?
You can see that in the phpinfo() output.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th June 2013, 12:56
jaypabs jaypabs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
I woul use sockets.
So, why ISPConfig not using the socket by default?

Quote:
You can see that in the phpinfo() output.
Here's some output of the phpinfo(). I'm putting it here coz I'm confuse if I am using php-fpm or fastcgi:


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th June 2013, 13:17
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,070
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,396 Times in 4,240 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
So, why ISPConfig not using the socket by default?
Because the ports version always works while the socket version might fail depending on the individual server configuration. Also the difference is very small, you might notice it only on very large sites with several hundred thousand pageviews a day.

Quote:
Here's some output of the phpinfo(). I'm putting it here coz I'm confuse if I am using php-fpm or fastcgi
PHP FPM.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
saosangmo (19th June 2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
issues in /var/log/apache2/error.log denpark Installation/Configuration 1 22nd November 2011 09:12
Newly Installed ISPConfig3 on Ubuntu 8.04 : login redirect fail ? cripperz Installation/Configuration 5 22nd March 2009 12:15
How to add a subdomain? malinens Installation/Configuration 2 10th March 2008 23:16
php eating cpu shajazzi Server Operation 15 15th August 2007 01:19
php script injections Grizzly General 21 18th July 2006 08:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.