Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 6th June 2013, 15:40
monkfish monkfish is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 106
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Quote:
well sorta would be a pain, if I wanted to test all sites as I transfered..
Ye gods man, why would you NOT want to test each site to ensure everything works to spec... without errors... no 404's... no database errors... no library errors... no permissions errors...

Or, put it another way, I appreciate that moving sites/hosts/platforms happens within the industry, but why would you choose to potentially insult paying customers by moving their site and breaking it through insufficient testing?

Even if they're your own sites, come on, surely a bit of due diligence is required?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 6th June 2013, 19:18
SaltireH SaltireH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkfish View Post
Ye gods man, why would you NOT want to test each site to ensure everything works to spec... without errors... no 404's... no database errors... no library errors... no permissions errors...

Or, put it another way, I appreciate that moving sites/hosts/platforms happens within the industry, but why would you choose to potentially insult paying customers by moving their site and breaking it through insufficient testing?

Even if they're your own sites, come on, surely a bit of due diligence is required?
I didnt say I wasnt going to check each site.... I said I didnt fancy making 200+ changes to my hosts file...as it turns out, it is a moot pont, as there is a facility to make aliases.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 6th June 2013, 21:20
monkfish monkfish is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 106
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Sorry, just how long does it take to make an entry like

Code:
xx.xx.xx.xx www.site1.com www.site2.com www.site3.com www.site4.com... www.site200.com
etc, in a hosts file?

I am willing to bet you don't have 200 new dedicated ip addresses and that most of them will be pointing to same address or there will be very few addresses in total. Not exactly taxing!

I hope you don't come across hardcoded links in your sites - your aliases won't be useful then.

Good luck with your migration.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th June 2013, 21:33
SaltireH SaltireH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkfish View Post
Sorry, just how long does it take to make an entry like

Code:
xx.xx.xx.xx www.site1.com www.site2.com www.site3.com www.site4.com... www.site200.com
etc, in a hosts file?

I am willing to bet you don't have 200 new dedicated ip addresses and that most of them will be pointing to same address or there will be very few addresses in total. Not exactly taxing!

I hope you don't come across hardcoded links in your sites - your aliases won't be useful then.

Good luck with your migration.
hmm, you really seem to be getting your knickers in a twist because I dont want to faff around with my host file.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th June 2013, 21:55
monkfish monkfish is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 106
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Not really fella, I just feel sorry for your customers.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 6th June 2013, 22:36
SaltireH SaltireH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkfish View Post
Not really fella, I just feel sorry for your customers.
wow... you really do have a bee in your bonnet, thats one helluva leap...looking for an alternative to editing hosts file = bad customer service
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Websites works locally but not from the outside! I call upon the Experts to do magic danhansen@denmark Installation/Configuration 3 9th April 2013 13:04
Migrating to ISPC3 from other panels (here: plesk) Croydon Developers' Forum 29 17th December 2012 16:24
Careful with re-creating Websites or anything MYSQL related norbie Installation/Configuration 4 15th October 2012 09:28
Websites page missing websites (after update) a0011010011 General 1 18th January 2012 15:12
websites outside ISPConfig guidovanh Installation/Configuration 13 7th March 2006 22:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.