Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > ISPConfig 3 Priority Support

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th April 2013, 13:45
danhansen@denmark danhansen@denmark is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 201
Thanks: 41
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Question Website - root - "/web" yes, but...

Hi,

I'm configurating a site to be as SEO friendly as possible. Which folder is the root, where to place the "robots.txt" file?
Do "bot's" have "access" to the folders one step up from the default web folder? /cgi-bin, /private etc?

Thanks in advance
__________________
Kind Regards
Dan

__________________________________________________ _______
Fixed IP/WAN
DMZ -> "ispserverip"
Primary NameServer -> ns1.myprimarynameserver.tld
Secondary NameServer -> ns2.somedomainservice.tld

Ubuntu Server 12.04.4
ISPconfig 3 v.3.0.5.2 (Single Server Setup)
NameServer: BIND v.9.8.1-P1
SquirrelMail: v.1.4.22
MailServer: PostFix v.2.9.6 - IMAP/POP3 Dovecot v.2.0.19
Database: MySQL Server v.5.5.29-0ubuntu0.12.04.2
Tutorial: "ThePerfectServer-ISPconfig3-Ubuntu12.04"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th April 2013, 14:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

The root folder of the site is the web folder, so the robots.txt file has to be placed into the web folder.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th April 2013, 15:17
danhansen@denmark danhansen@denmark is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 201
Thanks: 41
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Thumbs up "web" is the root!

Hi Till,

Thanks for the quick answer

The root folder of the site is the web folder, so the robots.txt file has to be placed into the web folder.

Which means, the directories e.g. "/cgi-bin" is not accessable for the "bots"
__________________
Kind Regards
Dan

__________________________________________________ _______
Fixed IP/WAN
DMZ -> "ispserverip"
Primary NameServer -> ns1.myprimarynameserver.tld
Secondary NameServer -> ns2.somedomainservice.tld

Ubuntu Server 12.04.4
ISPconfig 3 v.3.0.5.2 (Single Server Setup)
NameServer: BIND v.9.8.1-P1
SquirrelMail: v.1.4.22
MailServer: PostFix v.2.9.6 - IMAP/POP3 Dovecot v.2.0.19
Database: MySQL Server v.5.5.29-0ubuntu0.12.04.2
Tutorial: "ThePerfectServer-ISPconfig3-Ubuntu12.04"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th April 2013, 01:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Not unless you enable CGI for a web site. CGI/Perl scripts have to be placed in the cgi-bin directory.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
danhansen@denmark (25th May 2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update to ISPConfig 3.0.4 phpMyAdmin Problems midcarolina General 6 14th November 2011 15:54
Flash Player (version 10.0r22) did not load bobwdn HOWTO-Related Questions 10 11th September 2011 11:08
apache log issues abubin General 13 1st August 2010 17:47
saslauthd Error while Sending Mail Naja Server Operation 6 1st April 2009 20:41
messed up apache2-php5 installation klonos HOWTO-Related Questions 2 24th January 2009 23:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.