#1  
Old 24th April 2013, 05:35
ggirtsou ggirtsou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default DNS Configuration

Hello everyone,

I'm new to ispconfig and I have recently installed it on a dedicated server.

I find it tricky to setup DNS since I am new to all this.

Here's what I did: I installed ISPconfig (ver 3.0.5.2) on a Ubuntu machine (amd) and got it working.

I can only access it via IP since I haven't set up the DNS correctly. I just found this guide: http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-run...debian-squeeze

which explains in detail how to do that. Is there any way I can do it on the same machine? The above guide says I need two servers.

I have two IPs right now but I would like to avoid the cost of buying a new server.

Please let me know if that's possible.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th April 2013, 05:47
SunnyD SunnyD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

There's no need if you're just running a single server. Simply create two host entries both pointing to the same IP address for your domain's name servers.

Technically you only NEED one DNS server. Additional servers are only to conform to RFC spec and for failover purposes (ie: "Just in case").

The only part of the particular HowTo you linked that you should pay attention to in this case Step 5 and 8. Note: Step 8 will likely be different based on who your domain registrar is.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SunnyD For This Useful Post:
ggirtsou (24th April 2013)
  #3  
Old 24th April 2013, 05:53
ggirtsou ggirtsou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Well the thing is that I already have installed ISPConfig3 to my server and the guide says I need another server as well.

When I go to System -> Services there's no "Add" button to add a new server.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th April 2013, 05:54
SunnyD SunnyD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ggirtsou View Post
Well the thing is that I already have installed ISPConfig3 to my server and the guide says I need another server as well.

When I go to System -> Services there's no "Add" button to add a new server.
Which guide did you use to install ISPConfig with?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th April 2013, 08:24
ggirtsou ggirtsou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I used this guide: http://www.ispconfig.org/news/tutori...t-ispconfig-3/

Followed everything step-by-step.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th April 2013, 14:03
SunnyD SunnyD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ggirtsou View Post
I used this guide: http://www.ispconfig.org/news/tutori...t-ispconfig-3/

Followed everything step-by-step.
Alright, so then you should have installed the package BIND as part of that process.

Did you set up a DNS Zone for your domain in the ISPConfig control panel? Did you also register your name server with your domain registrar as the authoritative name server for the domain? Without the latter in particular, the internet at large won't know to use your server for DNS lookups on your domain at all.

See this HowTo:http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-run...and-fast-hosts

The last section (about Fast Hosts) will be different based on who your domain registrar is, but the basics are still the same - you need to register your name server with your registrar before everyone will know where to look.

And as I said in the previous post, there is no need to run two servers at this time. Just create two name server DNS names pointing to the same IP address and it will work fine.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SunnyD For This Useful Post:
ggirtsou (24th April 2013)
  #7  
Old 24th April 2013, 14:24
ggirtsou ggirtsou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for sharing this! I just read this and now it works. Thanks so much!

Maybe these two guides should be somehow linked together for people like me.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ggirtsou For This Useful Post:
SunnyD (24th April 2013)
  #8  
Old 24th April 2013, 18:13
SunnyD SunnyD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
 
Default

Glad you're up and running! DNS is probably one of the harder things to figure out with the whole thing, and yes, the Perfect Server guides tend to assume you already have an idea on the many different ways to configure DNS and how to set up the DNS zones. Enjoy!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS configuration worries rzlines Installation/Configuration 30 23rd December 2010 17:23
HELP DNS and DHCP I AM LOST krisarmstrong Server Operation 0 18th August 2009 23:27
Urgent Help in NEED with DNS installation and Configuration! FirFYPJ Server Operation 6 9th March 2009 18:37
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
ISPConfig 2.2.21 | Debian 4.0 | DNS configuration question iceget Installation/Configuration 8 17th February 2008 18:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.