Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd March 2013, 00:51
sumwoman sumwoman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 23
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default local virtual domain not resolving

greetings,

Successful install according to Perfect Server Debian Squeeze ISPConfig 3
I got as far as setting up a local virtual domain, connected to a database, and got the default welcome page with colored background. I came back later but the local virtual domain was no longer resolving.

Default web page for server http://ns1.vanhost.local is resolving. I can see "It works!".
ISPconfig is working fine.

I've got port forwarding on the router set to the correct local ip address.

What files should I be looking at to resolve the problem? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd March 2013, 18:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Do you use * or a specific IP for this website in the ISPConfig settings?

Did you use the correct domain in your browser?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th March 2013, 04:34
sumwoman sumwoman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 23
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks for your reply

Thanks for your response Falko,

Computer IP is 192.168.0.101
Please see below, the output of several commands: nslookup, dig and netstat -tap

###
clover@ns1:~$ nslookup visionboard.local
Server: 192.168.0.101
Address: 192.168.0.101#53

Name: visionboard.local
Address: 192.168.0.101

###
clover@ns1:~$ dig visionboard.local

; <<>> DiG 9.7.3 <<>> visionboard.local
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 41505
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;visionboard.local. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
visionboard.local. 3600 IN A 192.168.0.101

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
visionboard.local. 3600 IN NS ns1.vanhost.local.
visionboard.local. 3600 IN NS ns2.vanhost.local.

;; Query time: 0 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.0.101#53(192.168.0.101)
;; WHEN: Sat Mar 23 19:56:41 2013
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 95

###
root@ns1:/home/clover# netstat -tap
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:10024 *:* LISTEN 1534/amavisd (maste
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:10025 *:* LISTEN 2791/master
tcp 0 0 *:mysql *:* LISTEN 2191/mysqld
tcp 0 0 *:sunrpc *:* LISTEN 1099/portmap
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 2552/pure-ftpd (SER
tcp 0 0 ns1.vanhost.loca:domain *:* LISTEN 1576/named
tcp 0 0 localhost.locald:domain *:* LISTEN 1576/named
tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 2570/sshd
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdoma:ipp *:* LISTEN 2051/cupsd
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 2791/master
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdoma:953 *:* LISTEN 1576/named
tcp 0 0 *:39747 *:* LISTEN 1111/rpc.statd
tcp6 0 0 [::]op3 [::]:* LISTEN 1927/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 [::]:imap2 [::]:* LISTEN 1926/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 [::]:http-alt [::]:* LISTEN 1597/apache2
tcp6 0 0 [::]:www [::]:* LISTEN 1597/apache2
tcp6 0 0 [::]:tproxy [::]:* LISTEN 1597/apache2
tcp6 0 0 [::]:ftp [::]:* LISTEN 2552/pure-ftpd (SER
tcp6 0 0 [::]:domain [::]:* LISTEN 1576/named
tcp6 0 0 [::]:ssh [::]:* LISTEN 2570/sshd
tcp6 0 0 ip6-localhost:ipp [::]:* LISTEN 2051/cupsd
tcp6 0 0 [::]:smtp [::]:* LISTEN 2791/master
tcp6 0 0 ip6-localhost:953 [::]:* LISTEN 1576/named
tcp6 0 0 [::]:https [::]:* LISTEN 1597/apache2
tcp6 0 0 [::]:imaps [::]:* LISTEN 1929/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 [::]op3s [::]:* LISTEN 1930/couriertcpd

---

The exact same setup on another server is working perfectly.

I can't figure out the error.
Ispconfig is working
phpmyadmin is working


NOTE FROM netstat -tap OUTPUT:
letter l missing from word local.
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* 2552/pure-ftpd (SER
tcp 0 0 ns1.vanhost.loca:domain *:* 1576/named


Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th March 2013, 19:13
sumwoman sumwoman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 23
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default domain not resolving even after re-install

Hi there again,

I re-installed server according to Perfect Setup debian ispconfig

Everything worked fine. I used ispconfig to set up client, dns, website, database plus user, and ftp user.
All of it was accessible and working.

This morning, I restarted the computer but the local website is not resolving. Everything else is fine.

I guess, some file is automatically updated after reboot and it is giving trouble somewhere at name resolution time.

But this is not happening on the other computer which is has same software setup.

What could be the issue?

Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th March 2013, 16:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Please check /etc/resolv.conf and /etc/hosts.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th March 2013, 22:35
sumwoman sumwoman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 23
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default changed /etc/hosts file

Hi there again

When I place the third line in the /etc/hosts file
127.0.0.1 local.localdomain localhost
192.168.0.106 serv1.vanhost.local serv1
192.168.0.106 www.visionboard.local serv1

####
The local website resolves.
NOTE: During the last re-install, computer and ip number changed a bit.

But I don't have to add anything to /etc/hosts file > in the other computer set up exactly the same way.

var/sys/log had many entries like this
named[1417]: error (network unreachable) resolving ....

What could be the problem?

Thanks for you time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catchall and Forwarding not working simmo General 6 22nd March 2014 00:54
CGI and FormMail Cracklefish Installation/Configuration 17 13th October 2009 13:40
CentoS doesn't send the emails vaio1 Installation/Configuration 18 5th November 2008 17:51
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.