Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th March 2013, 14:51
lollollollol lollollollol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madagascar
Posts: 44
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Strange lines in /etc/fstab

Ispconfig ISPConfig Version: 3.0.5.1
Debian Wheezy

Hi, I just discover 4 strange lines in my fstab:

Code:
cat /etc/fstab
...
/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/domain1.tld /var/www/clients/client1/web57/log    none    bind,nobootwait    0 0
/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/domain2.tld /var/www/clients/client0/web61/log    none    bind,nobootwait    0 0
/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/domain3.tld /var/www/clients/client0/web77/log    none    bind,nobootwait    0 0
/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/domain4.tld /var/www/clients/client0/web78/log    none    bind,nobootwait    0 0
Same taht in this thread:
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60864
It's in this bug repport too:
http://bugtracker.ispconfig.org/inde...s&task_id=2541

My questions:
- Is it normal to have this lines ?
- What is their utility ?
- Can I umount and remove it safely ?

Thank you in advance.
Laurent
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th March 2013, 17:11
florian030 florian030 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 233
Thanks: 8
Thanked 65 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Quote:
My questions:
- Is it normal to have this lines ?
yes

Quote:
- What is their utility ?
Shell-Users can access their logfiles.

Quote:
- Can I umount and remove it safely ?
You can remove the bind-mounts. But there is no really reason. Beside this, i didnt like the solution, too. See http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60237

Not sure why, but on my servers neither the mounts are unmounted during shutdown nore mounted automaticly after reboot.

Thank you in advance.
Laurent[/QUOTE]
__________________
regards
Florian

blog.schaal-24.de
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to florian030 For This Useful Post:
falko (17th March 2013), lollollollol (17th March 2013)
  #3  
Old 17th March 2013, 10:57
lollollollol lollollollol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madagascar
Posts: 44
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Hi florian030,

Thanks for the answer, I didn't realize the interest for shell users.
I was waiting for an answer before rebooting, so thanks!

Laurent.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th March 2013, 16:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,499 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

Quote:
Not sure why, but on my servers neither the mounts are unmounted during shutdown nore mounted automaticly after reboot.
Then there must be something wrong with your OS setup. All mount points defined in /etc/fstab are mounted at boot time. I tested it here and it works finr on my servers.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th March 2013, 18:20
florian030 florian030 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 233
Thanks: 8
Thanked 65 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Maybe.... my web-dir is on a drbd-volume with ocfs2 as the filesystem and the log-dirs are on local ext3-partition.

I think, the entries in /etc/fstab are wrong, since the mount could not be done duringt startup. Its only possible after the drbd/ocfs2-mounts are done.
__________________
regards
Florian

blog.schaal-24.de
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th March 2013, 09:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,499 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

The entries in fstab are correct. If you use filesystems which does not get loaded at a later time, you can add "mount -a" command in a rc file like rc.local which is executed after your network filesystem is loaded to mount all mountpoints that could not be loaded at boot time.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st March 2013, 13:50
andypl andypl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Radom, Poland
Posts: 93
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

There is one error in the mounting when we remove the page entry in /etc/fstab gone but still mount is active until you restart the server.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th March 2013, 20:22
ADM ADM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have same issue.

I don't like that ispconfig edit my /etc/fstab, please tell me how to disable this feature.

Also my clients does not have SSH access, why I should have this entry in /etc/fstab?

There is also a big issue with this settings

If you try to make a new dir inside the web folder you get Permission Denied even as root user!

try this:
Code:
cd /home/www/clients/client1/web1
mkdir testdir
touch testfile
ispconfig is the stata of the art for hosting but i really dislike this issue introduced by 3.0.5.1

I don't want to go back to 3.0.4.x but please give me a solution to fully disable this feature.

Thanks very much.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd April 2013, 15:56
ADM ADM is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Is it working as intended that root user can't make dirs inside /home/www/clients/clientN/webN/ dir?

Or it is a side effect of this /etc/fstab manipulation?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quota - CentOS - Xen VPS... configure /etc/fstab ? m.xander Installation/Configuration 4 23rd July 2014 12:13
Having trouble editing nano /etc/fstab husskii Installation/Configuration 0 9th December 2009 14:53
How Go Past Adjust vi /etc/fstab (Quota) installing web server? arshiv Installation/Configuration 2 7th August 2009 12:21
Strange "client" [ ::1] causing "Directory Index Forbidden by Options Directive" Err bpmee Server Operation 19 17th June 2008 16:01
Strange FTP issue pucko Installation/Configuration 4 23rd August 2006 19:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.