Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th March 2013, 16:29
vaio1 vaio1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 664
Thanks: 77
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Question Adding a new IP Address with ISPConfig

Hi guys,

I have created a new ip address in my /etc/network/interfaces adding these rows:

Code:
allow-hotplug eth0:0
iface eth0:0 inet static
        address 101.178.110.100
        netmask 255.255.255.248

allow-hotplug eth0:1
iface eth0:1 inet static
        address 101.178.110.101
        netmask 255.255.255.248
I have added in the ISPConfig as the manual told me the new IP Address: 101.178.110.100

I have created a website in the ISPConfig admin panel.

Then, I have set up a new "A zone" in my dns service for the new website.

Now, If I call the domain I can see the default ISPConfig welcome page but It seems to me that it doesn't redirect it to the website folder.

How have I to solve this problem?

thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st March 2013, 09:17
Lionheart82 Lionheart82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaio1 View Post
Hi guys,

I have created a new ip address in my /etc/network/interfaces adding these rows:

Code:
allow-hotplug eth0:0
iface eth0:0 inet static
        address 101.178.110.100
        netmask 255.255.255.248

allow-hotplug eth0:1
iface eth0:1 inet static
        address 101.178.110.101
        netmask 255.255.255.248
I have added in the ISPConfig as the manual told me the new IP Address: 101.178.110.100

I have created a website in the ISPConfig admin panel.

Then, I have set up a new "A zone" in my dns service for the new website.

Now, If I call the domain I can see the default ISPConfig welcome page but It seems to me that it doesn't redirect it to the website folder.

How have I to solve this problem?

thanks
Hello, many things you should check... first is dns configures properly?
what does ping ip address show you? have you configure in ispconfig the 80 port in this address?
Also did u use the specific ip address in the new web site?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st March 2013, 11:08
vaio1 vaio1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 664
Thanks: 77
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Smile

Hi,

yes I have set up the DNS Zones with the new IP. My settings are:

Code:
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 101.178.110.100
        netmask 255.255.255.248
        network 101.178.110.125
        broadcast 101.178.110.109
        gateway 101.178.110.122
        # dns-* options are implemented by the resolvconf package, if installed
        dns-nameservers 112.197.132.21
        dns-search mydomain.com


allow-hotplug eth0:0
auto eth0:0
iface eth0:0 inet static
        address 101.178.110.101
        netmask 255.255.255.248
Now all works! I have to wait the update of the dns zone before testing it again.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st March 2013, 11:26
Lionheart82 Lionheart82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

If you are in windows you can edit your hosts file and set something like

ipaddress domainname.com
and save ( if you can save it copy paste on desctop, save it and then repaste in "Windows\System32\drivers\etc" folder)

then ipconfig -flushdns on a cmd promt and you are done, you should see the web site even if dns is not updated yet.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st March 2013, 11:47
almere almere is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Netherlands, Rotterdam
Posts: 231
Thanks: 20
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to almere
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lionheart82 View Post
If you are in windows you can edit your hosts file and set something like

ipaddress domainname.com
and save ( if you can save it copy paste on desctop, save it and then repaste in "Windows\System32\drivers\etc" folder)

then ipconfig -flushdns on a cmd promt and you are done, you should see the web site even if dns is not updated yet.
Windows on Linux forum?
Code:
/etc/network/interfaces
in windows?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st March 2013, 12:06
Lionheart82 Lionheart82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Now all works! I have to wait the update of the dns zone before testing it again.

thanks
This guide was for windows in order to see the web site locally at your own computer only - until dns is updated...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu 11.10, ISPConfig 3.0.4.1 needs some nginx.conf tweaks after following guide. talkingnews Installation/Configuration 10 28th November 2011 21:55
Odd Spam behaviour itsnedkeren Installation/Configuration 1 11th December 2010 14:20
PHP warnings after upgrade to ISP config 3.03 stevegjacobs Installation/Configuration 5 30th October 2010 14:31
Being Spammed/Hacked/Probed not sure PLEASE HELP! kresser General 10 29th October 2010 17:25
Strato Server - Restoring with SystemImager popper2001 HOWTO-Related Questions 5 28th July 2007 10:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.