#1  
Old 17th February 2013, 02:22
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Wget & cron jobs

Hello and good evening.

I am running ISPConfig 3.0.4.6.

I hope domain.tld and am trying to run a cronjob using wget but its not working.

The command looks like this:
* * * * * /usr/bin/wget -O - http://domain.tld/subfolder/name_of_file

The wget response I get is:

--2013-02-16 17:16:00-- http://domain.tld/subfolder/name_of_file
Resolving domain.tld... XXX.XXX.XXX.XX (PUBLIC IP ADDRESS via DDNS)

Connecting to domain.tld|XXX.XXX.XXX.XX|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2013-02-16 17:16:00 ERROR 404: Not Found.

But if I add the FQDN to the /etc/hosts file, the command and cron works BUT the domain is not correctly resolvable from the Internet.

What is the best way to get wget to work? I can also use curl but curl does not seem to work either. I am assuming for the same reason.

And yes, I can access http://domain.tld/subfolder/name_of_file in my web browser while on the LAN.

Can someone please help?
__________________
Running:

ISPConfig 3
openSUSE Linux 11.3
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th February 2013, 12:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Does the DNS record for the domain point to the correct IP?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th February 2013, 22:15
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Wget & cron jobs

Yes. It does.
__________________
Running:

ISPConfig 3
openSUSE Linux 11.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th February 2013, 19:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Is it possible that your router does not support loopbacks?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th March 2013, 03:21
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Is it possible that your router does not support loopbacks?
Yes, its possible. I will check into it.

Thanks!
__________________
Running:

ISPConfig 3
openSUSE Linux 11.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cron, cron tab, cronjob, wget

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CRON daily jobs do not run cbj4074 Server Operation 0 21st December 2012 17:36
problem in using : perfect-server-ubuntu-12.10-apache2-bind-dovecot-ispconfig-3, rezabagheri Installation/Configuration 7 30th October 2012 22:55
Cron jobs not running IrDA Installation/Configuration 8 18th November 2011 14:17
ISPConfig cron jobs mphayesuk General 3 30th August 2009 11:15
Cron jobs from within ISPConfig - Dont want emails robit Installation/Configuration 5 21st July 2008 17:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.