Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th June 2006, 00:00
ProgressiveBastion ProgressiveBastion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Arcata
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to ProgressiveBastion Send a message via MSN to ProgressiveBastion Send a message via Yahoo to ProgressiveBastion Send a message via Skype™ to ProgressiveBastion
Angry Questions on quota - Ububtu Perfect Install

I have installed everything up to (in the works as we speak) ISPConfig. When I ran into on page http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_ubuntu_5.10_p3 the below blurb:

Well I didn't have all the info that this exampled provided. So I did a verbatim to the file of what is shown below in bold. I backed up the original. Not what my file had but went with it. Now my question is: Facts are: I get a warning or error message say something about non mounting. I can't remember what exactly (it was very late last night ;-) ) But it lets me log on this morning after a restart because of tar.gz errors & I was able to upgrade to ISPConfig. I had a tar error trying to do ISPConfig so I did a zlib wget and got that installed. Then I was able to run the install script & and past step 8. I also checked telnet to talk to my SMTP, did a web page look-up of the Apache Server. Everything seems to be as it should!

Now the question; Should I delete the file and reinstall my back-up and then add the small changes? i.e. -ro, usrquota,grpquota & the additional drives i.e. / or /dev/sda/whatever. I also changed everything to the sda instead of mda (I think) that was shown in the below example.

Sorry for any confusion but I like to dive right. And this tutorial has been a great help and has got me in past my neck. I've had a few set backs but it's only taken 12 hours so far. And so far everything seems to be doing what it's suppose to do. I have this pathological issue with warnings & error prompts. I expect to have a very smooth wall after it's all said a done so I need to run this issue down.

ANY constructive/detailed input or link to said issues would be mucho appreciated.

Why do I need a server? To Run Bit-Torrents on Progressive & Anti-Establishment videos & non MSM shows like DemocracyNOW.org & SourceCode by hosting their mp3's, a Tor Server with private services, A SSL jabber network for ppl who need a secure way to communicate @ lastly a SSL/PGP secured e-mail server in order to service dissenters & Whistle-blowers & ordinary Citizens who are opposed to the current regimes tendency (with help of the baby bells) to sniff every packet out their.

You can get my drift over at my site ProgressiveBastion.com.
Imagine every-packet out their encrypted. NSA & other repressive govermentsal snoops would have a hell of a time... They want to take our Civil rights; well then let's encrypt every packet of lawful & protected speech & activitiy just to make their job hell. Thiefs of our Civil Rights. Grummmble Grummble....

THIS IS THE SECTION I pasted from the guide (Made my file look exactly like below; therefore the error) Do I just add the small changes?


Quota
apt-get install quota

Edit /etc/fstab to look like this (I added ,usrquota,grpquota to the partitions with the mount point / and /var):

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
#
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/sda3 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro,usrquota,grpquota 0 1
/dev/sda1 /boot ext3 defaults 0 2
/dev/sda4 /var ext3 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 0 2
/dev/sda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hdc /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 ro,user,noauto 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto 0 0


I know this is probably a pretty greenhorn question....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th June 2006, 14:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Don't copy the /etc/fstab from the tutorial! You must use the one from your system and add ,usrquota,grpquota to the / partition.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th June 2006, 22:40
ProgressiveBastion ProgressiveBastion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Arcata
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to ProgressiveBastion Send a message via MSN to ProgressiveBastion Send a message via Yahoo to ProgressiveBastion Send a message via Skype™ to ProgressiveBastion
 
Default Roger that

Falko thanks for the confirmation....

peace
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perfect Install - Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper Questions Anim HOWTO-Related Questions 123 1st October 2006 13:02
Regarding the Fedora Core 5 Perfect Install - Quota EricS HOWTO-Related Questions 4 30th May 2006 04:21
Mandriva 10.2 Perfect Setup Install Problems... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 12 30th December 2005 16:04
perfect install 5.04 isp on desktop image? bspratt Server Operation 5 6th November 2005 14:27
Fresh Install of FC4 using Perfect Install HowTo latcarf HOWTO-Related Questions 21 10th August 2005 22:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.