Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th June 2006, 22:08
TheRudy TheRudy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 216
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default disks during install not recognized, debian

Well i finally got my server and all happy tried to install Debian and it failed. Very unhappy right now

Was googling for an hour for solution but can't find anything!

Server info:
PRIMERGY Econel 100
P4 3.0
2xSATA wd 160GB disks

More info here: http://facts.fujitsu-siemens.com/ind...&lid=26&page=1

Turned on PC, booted debian with 'linux26', bla bla, languages, detecting dvdrom,... network... and then when it comes to disks it failed. Partition not available cause no drives detected or something along those lines.

I didn't touch a thing in bios and have not played with cd's that came with server. If i go on PC start into raid setup, i have two entries listed there under View Configuration.. so i left that alone..

Any of you guys know what on earth should i do? I have never done stuff with SATA before so that's probably why i'm all lost...

Help wanted!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th June 2006, 23:09
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Do you have a hardware RAID controler? That could be the problem as most distributions do not have drivers for newer RAID controlers.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th June 2006, 08:49
TheRudy TheRudy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 216
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

How to know if i have hardware controller? I'm afraid i can't open server case cause it has waranty label on it and i don't want to break it. Any way of finding out?

Well i found this info: A SATA RAID controller is integrated on the system board; up to four SATA hard
disk drives can be connected to the controller. RAID levels 0, 1 and 10 are
supported for each LSI SATA software RAID.


I did change last night in bios setting for RAID from 'raid' to 'compatible'. Installer did recognize only 1 disk as ATA and the system was installed.

Somepeple said that i should try with etch or sid installer which has newer version of kernel. Since that is unstable version, i'm not sure if i want that on public server. But i'll give it a try to see if it does recognize disks..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th June 2006, 15:20
TheRudy TheRudy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 216
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Well since i have some time to play with it, i installed new ubuntu dektop version and it works without any problems, everything recognized, both SATA drives...

I will also test the testing version of debian now and we'll see what happens there..

I'll probably have to compile newer kernel to make it work with stable release of debian..

Can i do this: Install stable debian using 'compatible' mode instead of 'raid' mode in bios. Install it on 1 hda, recompile newer version of kernel, change fstab from hda to sda, reboot to bios, change from 'compatible' to 'raid' and reboot debian? Is it worth of a try or even better, does this make any sense?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th June 2006, 20:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRudy
Can i do this: Install stable debian using 'compatible' mode instead of 'raid' mode in bios. Install it on 1 hda, recompile newer version of kernel, change fstab from hda to sda, reboot to bios, change from 'compatible' to 'raid' and reboot debian? Is it worth of a try or even better, does this make any sense?
I don't think this will work...
You can use a kernel from Debian unstable, that's what the HowtoForge server does... The kernels are stable.

But if it works with Ubuntu, then I'd simply install Ubuntu's server version.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th June 2006, 21:39
TheRudy TheRudy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 216
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
 
Default

Well since i have a few days to play with it, i'll first try with debian, ubuntu is of course my second choice

Anyway, i found custom kernel 2.6.14 with sata support and in installation my sata drives are detected! I'm SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO happy right now!

The kernel that works with sata drives:
http://kmuto.jp/b.cgi/debian/d-i-2615.htm

Last edited by TheRudy; 10th June 2006 at 23:33.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo install ISPConfig on a STRATO-Server with Debian 3.1 TobiasTM Tips/Tricks/Mods 12 15th July 2008 10:08
Fresh Install on Debian cksrealm Installation/Configuration 12 22nd February 2006 16:14
2.6.12 debian install problems s2angel Installation/Configuration 6 31st December 2005 13:21
e-mail problem!!! Debian 3.1 maroonworks Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2005 14:42
Why install from source instead of debian packages? TheMike HOWTO-Related Questions 3 27th July 2005 10:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.