
17th January 2012, 23:13
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts
|
|
Mail server, Yahoo, Gmail as Spam
Hello all,
Please I need a little help with a little problem...
Aside of hotmail, every mail sent by my mail server was arriving ok to inbox in gmail and yahoo. A client used our servers to send spam for two days... we kick it from our hosting, but right now, every mail send by my server is going directly to spam...
Do you know how can I give advise to yahoo and gmail about the situation, clarify that it has been fixed, and get all mails again to inbox?
If there is no solution to this, maybe I will have to use a different IP...
Thanks in advance
|

18th January 2012, 11:45
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
You are probably blacklisted. You can check here
Changing you IP is a bit extreme...
You could change your IP, keep in mind also to change reverse DNS record.
|

18th January 2012, 13:43
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts
|
|
Thanks, but I am not blacklisted in any place. The problem is that my mails are marked by google as spam, this was not happening before this user activity. I want to know where can I check my rep with google, or where can I send a form giving advise that the situation has been stoped.
Thanks!
|

19th January 2012, 15:31
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,593 Times in 2,444 Posts
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by erosbk
I want to know where can I check my rep with google, or where can I send a form giving advise that the situation has been stoped.
|
Please check your mail log. The big companies send back a URL in the error code that gets logged in the mail log, and when oyu visit this URL you can normally fill out a form and request to be removed from their internal blacklist.
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
|
erosbk (3rd February 2012)
|

3rd February 2012, 18:40
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by erosbk
Thanks, but I am not blacklisted in any place. The problem is that my mails are marked by google as spam, this was not happening before this user activity. I want to know where can I check my rep with google, or where can I send a form giving advise that the situation has been stoped.
Thanks!
|
Pretty sure you're blacklisted somewhere 
Be sure you're entering the right IP or FQDN from your mail server.
You'll need to do as falko has posted.
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to emdok For This Useful Post:
|
erosbk (3rd February 2012)
|

3rd February 2012, 21:27
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts
|
|
Thanks both of you, I checked everywhere (aside of mxtoolbox) for blacklists and all my IPs are clean.
A client was using email server to send mails to google groups and others list, with a LOT of rejected mailboxs (I received lots of rejected address, really lots, 2000+ per hour)... I didn't find any message in logs, and with yahoo right now mails are starting to arrive at inbox... cannot say the same for gmail, I still arrive to spam after this, before I was arriving always to inbox...
But well, I think that in a while it will be fixed without intervention of my side... if someone has more ideas please post here.
Regards and thanks again for your help and future advises!
|

13th February 2012, 13:10
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Did your check your SPF record?
|

14th February 2012, 10:47
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bergen
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Check this resource
Don´t know if this will help you, but Google has a "Bulk senders Guideline" resource
https://support.google.com/mail/bin/...n&answer=81126
__________________
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
ServerBite Virtual host - Your friendly virtual private server provider in Bergen.
ServerBite is the international brand of Norwegian veteran VPS company Webhuset
|

3rd January 2013, 22:29
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
You need to set relay host
You need to relay the mails you are sending using your ISPs smtp. Add these two lines in your main.cf in /etc/postfix
broken_sasl_auth_clients = yes
smtp_sasl_security_options =
smtp_sasl_password_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/sasl_passwd <------
smtp_always_send_ehlo = yes
relayhost = smtp.yourisp.tld
smtpd_sasl_authenticated_header = yes
smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_mynetworks, permit_sasl_authenticated, check_recipient_access mysql:/etc/postfix/mysql-virtual_recipient.cf, reject_unauth_destination
Then 'create /etc/postfix/sasl_passwd' and add these lines
smtp.yourisp.tld user@yourisp.tld:Password
If your ISPs SMTP server doesn't require authentification than you won't need to add 'smtp_sasl_password_maps .....' line and won't have to create 'sasl_passwd' file.
Hope this helps you.
|

4th January 2013, 13:10
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by mylifenp
You need to relay the mails you are sending using your ISPs smtp. Add these two lines in your main.cf in /etc/postfix
broken_sasl_auth_clients = yes
smtp_sasl_security_options =
smtp_sasl_password_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/sasl_passwd <------
smtp_always_send_ehlo = yes
relayhost = smtp.yourisp.tld
smtpd_sasl_authenticated_header = yes
smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_mynetworks, permit_sasl_authenticated, check_recipient_access mysql:/etc/postfix/mysql-virtual_recipient.cf, reject_unauth_destination
Then 'create /etc/postfix/sasl_passwd' and add these lines
smtp.yourisp.tld user@yourisp.tld:Password
If your ISPs SMTP server doesn't require authentification than you won't need to add 'smtp_sasl_password_maps .....' line and won't have to create 'sasl_passwd' file.
Hope this helps you.
|
This seems very professional! I think OP should try right now!
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:47.
|
Recent comments
2 days 12 hours ago
2 days 21 hours ago
3 days 26 min ago
3 days 1 hour ago
3 days 3 hours ago
3 days 4 hours ago
3 days 6 hours ago
3 days 7 hours ago
3 days 23 hours ago
4 days 11 min ago