Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th December 2012, 10:27
Lanta Lanta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPconfig 3 DNS problems

Hi at all.

Maybe I'm only one of the many noobs that is coming here in HoWToForge asking for the DNS problem. But I manager for 2 years a DirectAdmin server and never had problems, so I think maybe I'm missing something.

I'm using Debian 6 default OVH distribution for ISPconfig 3 on a Kimsufi.

Correct me if I'm wrong. There are 2 ways to setup DNS:PS: I'm trying to set a first domain called www.ver1tas.it. The problem is that ISPconfig is not loading my site uploaded by FTP!

Last edited by Lanta; 16th December 2012 at 13:21.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th December 2012, 09:30
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 159
Thanks: 12
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Every site must have a name server at registrar. So , if your IP is XX.XY.XC.XXD create a A record as ns with that IP in your DNS Zone, and also at TLD (in my case RO TLD) make sure that yourdomain.net point to ns.yourdomain.net - doesn't matter if are the same IP's.

If you create with wizard the zone must look look that
Example
A yourdomain.ro. 86.xxx.xxx.147 0
A mail 86.xxx.xxx.147 0
A ns 86.xxx.xxx.147 0
A www 86.xxx.xxx.147 0
MX yourdomain.ro. mail.yourdomain.ro. 10
NS yourdomain.ro. ns.yourdomain.ro. 0

Last edited by Ghostdare; 16th December 2012 at 09:35. Reason: Example ad
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th December 2012, 13:02
Lanta Lanta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghostdare View Post
Every site must have a name server at registrar. So , if your IP is XX.XY.XC.XXD create a A record as ns with that IP in your DNS Zone, and also at TLD (in my case RO TLD) make sure that yourdomain.net point to ns.yourdomain.net - doesn't matter if are the same IP's.

If you create with wizard the zone must look look that
Example
A yourdomain.ro. 86.xxx.xxx.147 0
A mail 86.xxx.xxx.147 0
A ns 86.xxx.xxx.147 0
A www 86.xxx.xxx.147 0
MX yourdomain.ro. mail.yourdomain.ro. 10
NS yourdomain.ro. ns.yourdomain.ro. 0
I found no problem with setting up DNS, with the method 1 (using domain provided DNS server) and method 2 (using internal server DNS). The problem is that ISPconfig is actually loading the main site page instead of the website uploaded by FTP.
Can't figure out WHY. Maybe vhosts problems?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th December 2012, 13:09
Lanta Lanta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
root@ks3281171:/# apache2ctl -S
[Sun Dec 16 12:06:22 2012] [warn] VirtualHost 5.39.95.9:80 overlaps with VirtualHost 5.39.95.9:80, the first has precedence, perhaps you need a NameVirtualHost directive
[Sun Dec 16 12:06:22 2012] [warn] VirtualHost 5.39.95.9:80 overlaps with VirtualHost 5.39.95.9:80, the first has precedence, perhaps you need a NameVirtualHost directive
VirtualHost configuration:
5.39.95.9:80 quidclan.it (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/quidclan.it.vhost:7)
wildcard NameVirtualHosts and _default_ servers:
_default_:8081 ks3281171.kimsufi.com (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-apps.vhost:10)
_default_:443 ks3281171.kimsufi.com (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/default-ssl:2)
*:8080 is a NameVirtualHost
default server ks3281171.kimsufi.com (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-ispconfig.vhost:10)
port 8080 namevhost ks3281171.kimsufi.com (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-ispconfig.vhost:10)
*:80 is a NameVirtualHost
default server ks3281171.kimsufi.com (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-default:1)
port 80 namevhost ks3281171.kimsufi.com (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-default:1)
Syntax OK
root@ks3281171:/#
It didn't create my VirtualHosts... just one of 3 domains.

PS: opened etc/apache2/httpd.conf and it's empty OMG

Last edited by Lanta; 16th December 2012 at 13:18.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th December 2012, 13:22
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 159
Thanks: 12
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default

That is your problem.....vhosts.

Actually httpd.conf is empty, i've checked my file. Do you have sites created in sites-available and sites-enabled?

Last edited by Ghostdare; 16th December 2012 at 13:28. Reason: Add questions
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th December 2012, 13:28
Lanta Lanta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

httpd.conf it's empty
That's insane, because it is the default Debian6 distro for ISPconfig by OVH.

How to re-create it?

Last edited by Lanta; 16th December 2012 at 13:31.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th December 2012, 13:32
Lanta Lanta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghostdare View Post
That is your problem.....vhosts.

Actually httpd.conf is empty, i've checked my file. Do you have sites created in sites-available and sites-enabled?
Yes, they are all here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th December 2012, 13:39
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 159
Thanks: 12
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default

You are behind a firewall? If so, if you have a rule that point to an IP is no good.

My rule is like in the attachment.

PROTO -> tcp
SOURCE -> *
PORT -> *
DESTINATION -> *
PORT -> 80
GATEWAY -> *
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th December 2012, 13:51
Lanta Lanta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The only firewall I have at the moment is the firewall integrated into ISPconfig, and I have a rule that opens the ports needed.

I just tried to re-create the domain, it seems to work... still can't understand how. I'll let you know in some days.

Last edited by Lanta; 16th December 2012 at 14:01.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th December 2012, 14:03
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 159
Thanks: 12
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
 
Default

I've tried to check your record www.ver1tas.it at http://mxtoolbox.com and make a dns lookup and reported nothing.

Are you sure that you've set corect ns/zone for you site?

-------------------
smtp:ver1tas.it

smtp
No A records exist for ver1tas.it.

DNS Transcript - 1 m.dns.it 217.29.76.4 NON-AUTH Recieved 4 Referrals , rcode= NS: dns4.arubadns.cz,NS: dns2.technorail.com,NS: dns.technorail.com,NS: dns3.arubadns.net,

2 dns4.arubadns.cz 81.2.199.73 AUTH Recieved 1 Referrals , rcode= SOA: mname=ns.kimsufi.com/rname=hostmaster.ver1tas.it/serial=1,

dns lookup ns lookup mx lookup whois lookup
Reported by mxtoolbox.com on Sunday, December 16, 2012 at 6:03:33 AM (History)

Last edited by Ghostdare; 16th December 2012 at 14:05. Reason: LE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3 - MultiServer Setup - With Dedicated Control Panel - How? SuperJC Installation/Configuration 4 16th October 2012 21:03
PHP warnings after upgrade to ISP config 3.03 stevegjacobs Installation/Configuration 5 30th October 2010 15:31
ISPConfig DNS issue slu2 Server Operation 1 2nd January 2010 06:19
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 18:25
ispconfig and external primary DNS FredZ Installation/Configuration 4 9th October 2006 15:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.