Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd December 2012, 12:17
Loo Loo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Question How install a Linux Software-RAID 1 on Debian Squeeze using mdadm?

Hello members, how can I install a Linux Software-RAID 1 on Debian Squeeze using mdadm (2 disks: sda sdb)? On google and a lot of linux sites I can find just old tutorials that do not work or destined for a LVM System.

Can anybody help as so far, im not doing very well, appreciated if you can help. Louis
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd December 2012, 08:38
Loo Loo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Question

I didn't find the solution to this problem, I try many old tutorials and in a haphazard way.

Did you think it's cool to install my Open Virtuozzo setup now and build the software RAID 1 when a tutorial is available in the World Wide Web for this? Works this or is that too risky?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd December 2012, 09:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Here's the tutorial for non-LVM systems: http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-set...debian-squeeze
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Loo (3rd December 2012)
  #4  
Old 3rd December 2012, 10:25
Loo Loo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thumbs up

-.- phew


I'm sorry, next time I don't use the google search to find tutorials on your site ("site:howtoforge.com debian 6 software raid"). Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th December 2012, 04:30
Loo Loo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Sorry for another posting today, but I got a problem. I get the following error:
"You cannot change a partition into an extended one or vice versa. Delete it first." in 2008 you said this, I change it correctly (probably) but it's not work.

Now I notice this on a fully fresh Debian 6 64 Bit System without any manual changes:

Code:
root@nl:~# df -h
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/nl-root   455G  736M  431G   1% /
tmpfs                1007M     0 1007M   0% /lib/init/rw
udev                 1001M  132K 1001M   1% /dev
tmpfs                1007M     0 1007M   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda1             228M   16M  200M   8% /boot
root@nl:~#
Code:
root@nl:~# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00018c21

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1          32      248832   83  Linux
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2              32       60802   488134657    5  Extended
/dev/sda5              32       60802   488134656   8e  Linux LVM

Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1   *           1          32      248832   fd  Linux raid autodetect
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sdb2              32       60802   488134657    5  Extended
/dev/sdb5              32       60802   488134656   fd  Linux raid autodetect

Disk /dev/md0: 254 MB, 254791680 bytes
2 heads, 4 sectors/track, 62205 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 8 * 512 = 4096 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/md0 doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/dm-0: 495.7 GB, 495724789760 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60268 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/dm-0 doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/dm-1: 4123 MB, 4123000832 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 501 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/dm-1 doesn't contain a valid partition table
root@nl:~#
Code:
root@nl:~# cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [raid1]
md0 : active (auto-read-only) raid1 sdb1[1]
      248820 blocks super 1.2 [2/1] [_U]

unused devices: <none>
root@nl:~#
mdadm was already installed, it's a pre-installed RAID 1 or? The support says explicitly that RAID software would not be automatically installed, so I ask you...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Loo For This Useful Post:
Biliaevosse (4th December 2012)
  #6  
Old 4th December 2012, 19:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Looks like your /boot partition is using RAID1, but it's a degraded array (it's only using /dev/sdb1, and /dev/sda1 is missing).

BTW, your system is using LVM, so you must use the LVM tutorial.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th December 2012, 13:20
Loo Loo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Thumbs up

Oh, o.k. seems a little bit complicated. I now try the LVM setup for many hours but it fails (even if I change or skipping steps, in any case). My hoster offers Debian unfortunately not without this, it is possible that I clean remove the /boot partition RAID1 or it is permanently? I think then would work your tutorial.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: How To Set Up Software RAID1 On A Running System (Debian Etch) ClarkVent HOWTO-Related Questions 4 30th October 2010 14:39
Question: Configure Software RAID 1 on Debian Lenny ZeroEnna Technical 1 10th October 2010 19:17
Install debian linux: no driver for CD/DVD anw Installation/Configuration 1 2nd February 2009 02:54
Problem with install Debian Etch on a Software Raid 1 lano Installation/Configuration 2 25th July 2007 09:07
e-mail problem!!! Debian 3.1 maroonworks Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2005 14:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.