Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 4th April 2010, 21:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
dig @localhost fcts.in
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 27th April 2010, 16:25
morfeus morfeus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the same problem but i got it out .
I was missing a "." (point) in dns after domain name domain.com.

hope it helps!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14th September 2011, 16:14
backpacker77 backpacker77 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

What was the file where you missed the "." please ??

I try to fix the same problem
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th September 2011, 11:21
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Do you use BIND? Then check /etc/named.conf or /etc/bind/named.conf (depends on your distribution) and then the zone files that are included in this file.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
backpacker77 (15th September 2011)
  #15  
Old 17th September 2011, 16:21
inky inky is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hello, you have missed your nameserver in SOA record. Also host mta its not a mail that you are want to be your MX.

here is fixed zone file:
Code:
$TTL 86400
docjul.com.	IN	SOA	ns1.docjul.com. admin.docjul.com.      (
                                                2007031001 ;Serial Number
                                                28800 ;refresh
                                                3600 ;retry
                                                604800 ;expire
                                                38400 ;minimum

docjul.com.	IN	NS		ns1.docjul.com.
docjul.com.	IN	A		124.83.19.155
docjul.com.	IN	MX	10	mail.docjul.com.
ns1		IN	A		124.83.19.155
mail		IN	CNAME	docjul.com.
www		IN	CNAME	docjul.com.
mta		IN	A		124.83.19.155
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to inky For This Useful Post:
backpacker77 (18th September 2011)
  #16  
Old 13th January 2012, 10:30
misterm misterm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 515
Thanks: 13
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Question

I have the same worries as you, with ISPConfig, but I is not the same config file pri.domain.com

Quote:
$TTL 86400
@ IN SOA ksXXXXXX.kimsufi.com. admin.domain.com. (
2012011301 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
28800 ; refresh, seconds
7200 ; retry, seconds
604800 ; expire, seconds
86400 ) ; minimum, seconds
;
NS ksXXXXXX.kimsufi.com. ; Inet Address of name server 1
NS ns.kimsufi.com. ; Inet Address of name server 2
;
MM
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 13th January 2012, 11:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,260 Times in 4,124 Posts
Default

You missed to add the A-Records for the nameservers and the domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 20th January 2012, 16:20
misterm misterm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 515
Thanks: 13
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default Till Ok, I found

Hello Till
I forgot the hostname in the hosts file server.

Here

cordially

MM
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 24th November 2012, 07:01
JP_linux JP_linux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Unhappy NXDOMAIN problem,

Good morning,

I don't understand where and why I encounterd an error if I follow some instructions. In the next rounds I will be posted all settup, maybe somebody can help me. First of all I want to specify that I installed bind9 on virtualbox under platform of linux CentOS 6.3. The base platform where is installed virtual machine is linux Ubuntu. So:

> vi /etc/named.conf
options {
listen-on port 53 { 127.0.0.1; };
listen-on-v6 port 53 { ::1; };
directory "/var/named";
dump-file "/var/named/data/cache_dump.db";
statistics-file "/var/named/data/named_stats.txt";
memstatistics-file "/var/named/data/named_mem_stats.txt";
allow-query { localhost; };
query-source address * port 53;
recursion yes;

dnssec-enable yes;
dnssec-validation yes;
dnssec-lookaside auto;

/* Path to ISC DLV key */
bindkeys-file "/etc/named.iscdlv.key";
managed-keys-directory "/var/named/dynamic";
};

logging {
channel default_debug {
file "data/named.run";
severity dynamic;
};
};

zone "." IN {
type hint;
file "named.ca";
};
zone "my_site.com" {
type master;
file "my_site.com.fwd";
};
zone "2.0.10.in-addr.arpa" {
type master;
file "my_site.com.rev";
};

include "/etc/named.rfc1912.zones";
include "/etc/named.root.key";

>vi my_site.com.fwd

$ORIGIN my_site.com.

$TTL 3D

@ SOA serverCAE. root.my_site.com. (12 4h 1h 1w 1h)

@ IN NS serverCAE.

serverCAE. IN A 10.0.2.15

www IN A 10.0.2.15

>vi my_site.com.rev

$ORIGIN 2.0.10.in-addr.arpa.

$TTL 3D

@ SOA serverCAE. root.my_site.com. (12 4h 1h 1w 1h)

@ IN NS serverCAE.

211 IN PTR serverCAE.

> service named restart
OK
OK

>cat /etc/resolve.conf

nameserver 10.0.2.15

> nslookup www.my_site.com

Server: 10.0.2.2
Address: 10.0.2.2#53

** server can't find www.my_site.com: SERVFAIL

> nslookup 10.0.2.15

Server: 10.0.2.2
Address: 10.0.2.2#53

** server can't find 15.2.0.10.in-addr.arpa.: NXDOMAIN

> dig @www.my_site.com
dig: couldn't get address for 'www.my_site.com': not found

> dig @10.0.2.15

; <<>> DiG 9.8.2rc1-RedHat-9.8.2-0.10.rc1.el6_3.5 <<>> @10.0.2.15
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

Thats all.
Somebody can help me with some ideea or sugestion about manner in which I can made functional bind9? Any sugestion, ideea or tutorial which can help me is blessing.

Thank you in advance for support.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How set DNS entry for different server? SupuS Installation/Configuration 1 12th June 2006 09:48
Administrator receive empty mail ??? Stanev General 16 7th April 2006 20:56
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 10:50
Mail not working Roadracer Installation/Configuration 16 30th December 2005 23:40
Server can't "see" the internet Luciano Installation/Configuration 8 22nd August 2005 23:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.