Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th September 2012, 13:57
vmos vmos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default using * in ip address always redirects to first site

Good morning, I'm using ubuntu 12.04 with apache and ispconfig 3.0.4.6.

In this setup I've created a reseller and the reseller will have multiple clients. Each client will be able to add their own sites. I've got two problems (or maybe one depending on how you look at it)

If a client leaves the wildcard * in the ip address drop down field and creates more than one site, each site will redirect to the first one created.

I could get around this by using an IP address instead of *, but I can't find a way of allowing more than one client to use the same IP. This server is going to have a whole bunch of clients and only one IP so they can't have more than one each.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for either of these issues?

/edit, actually strictly speaking it's not the first site created, it seems to pick the first alphabetically

/edit/edit mostly fixed it. In /etc/apache2/ports.conf, I had this line hashed out

NameVirtualHost *:80

not entirely sure why that was, but un-hashing it fixes the issue. The only thing is that going to the servers IP address now brings up the first website instead of the holding page. Hang on I may have the answer.

Yep that's it. I created a site called 0000000000000000000000000.com so it'll always be first alphabetically and I'll put the holding page there.

Last edited by vmos; 12th September 2012 at 14:42.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th September 2012, 17:43
meth meth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I have similar bug

I have a similar bug, but it works different, because I setup subdomains in different folders and all shows me the same webpage, that isn't the first.

I am using nginx.

Example:
I have two domains abc.com and dfe.com, I set up a subdomain of abc.com d.abc.com as a different website, when I try to enter in d.abc.com I get dfe.com.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th September 2012, 17:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

What vmos2 described is not a bug, its the default behaviour of the apache webserver. A IP based vhost is always a stronger match then a wildcard based vhost and if you want to have a specifiv site shown first, then you have to craete a default vhost like vmos2 did and like it is described in several posts here.

To ensure that the correct page gets shown, ensure that you do not mix wildcards with IP addresses.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th September 2012, 18:00
meth meth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What about nginx issue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th September 2012, 18:57
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

Did you select *or IP in both sites or did you mixed them?

Btw. please dont post nginx questions in a apache thread.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th September 2012, 19:06
meth meth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Same IP, server IP, and sorry, should I change my question to a new post?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th September 2012, 16:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

A specific IP, or just *?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th September 2012, 16:40
meth meth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

You can check my vhost configuration in http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58714
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
apache, asterisk, ispconfig, ubuntu, wildcard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding site from IP address lobius Server Operation 1 25th June 2012 09:08
Just one SSL web site per IP address marko General 5 27th February 2012 17:30
SquirrelMail login not working glenneh Installation/Configuration 13 9th April 2011 20:01
Sending mail ISPConfig 3 but not receivind catza Installation/Configuration 20 19th May 2010 12:47
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 12:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.