#1  
Old 4th September 2012, 17:16
Sotiris.k Sotiris.k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Userdir plugin not working

Hello all,

I installed ISPConfig 3 on a home server for personal use which is on dynamic IP and therefore can not work as a DNS Server and use FQDN.

So my goal was to use the websites that I setup through http://home_server_ip/website.domain

I did some research on it and discovered the userdir plugin http://www.howtoforge.com/userdir-ac...onfig-3-server and installed it.

I have the "Temporary URL" enabled for any website but the result is still just a 403 Forbidden page.

So to all of you who run ISPConfig for a similar purpose and may or may not have tried this plugin, I would like some directions on how to fix my problem.

Thank you!

Last edited by Sotiris.k; 4th September 2012 at 17:17. Reason: grammar mistakes
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th September 2012, 17:37
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,388 Times in 4,233 Posts
Default

Take a look here for accessing your sites without DNS:

http://www.faqforge.com/linux/contro...-a-dns-record/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th September 2012, 17:43
Sotiris.k Sotiris.k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I can access my server perfectly with just the IP. That's not my problem.

My problem is how to access a website created with ISPConfig on said server.

Example: I create 2 websites called domain1.com and domain2.com but of course I am not the owner of said domains since they are just dummies.

Is there a way to access the websites created on my server for those domains?

Like this http://192.168.0.100/domain1.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th September 2012, 17:47
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,388 Times in 4,233 Posts
Default

Quote:
Is there a way to access the websites created on my server for those domains?
Yes, I posted the link that describes this in detail. Ag´fetr you followed the description in the faq, you can access your sites as if they exist in dns like http://domain1.com as the hosts file on your workstation overrides the normal dns system for your computer. You can ecen use fake domains with another tld like .int for internal so that you dont mix them up with external websites.

The userdir module is mostly for plain html pages and I wont use it personally as it wornt work for pages with scripts or cms systems anyway.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th September 2012, 18:08
Sotiris.k Sotiris.k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It worked! Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th September 2012, 20:35
MaddinXx MaddinXx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 197
Thanks: 25
Thanked 62 Times in 46 Posts
Default

Hi @Sotiris.k

I'm sorry the plugin didn't work for you, but I'm interested in discovering why it didn't so I can improve it if needed.

You were only trying it with an IP as "default vhost", e.g. the base for the userdirs config as I can see, is this right?

Thanks for your answer!
Regards
__________________
Rackster Internet Services's presences:
Official | Open Source | Github | Facebook | Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th September 2012, 21:13
Sotiris.k Sotiris.k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Maddinxx,

Yes i was using it like this http://192.168.0.1/domain1.com
The IP was of course the IP of my home server and the domain was correctly setup through ISPConfig

I followed the directions step by step. Tell me what would you be interested to see from me so I can help the debug (if there is any and it's not my fault)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th September 2012, 21:46
MaddinXx MaddinXx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 197
Thanks: 25
Thanked 62 Times in 46 Posts
Default

I just tried the plugin following the tutorial step by step and there was a typo within one of the "cp" commands, not using absolute paths (e.g. /) - this could be reason for why it wasn't working for you.

Also, did you use ~ (tilde) before the "URL", e.g. http://ip/~domain.tld? It seems you missed it.

Other reasons could be mod_security etc. but that's wild guessing.

Anyway, like till mentioned, the plugin is only useful for static pages - so if you want to run PHP it's not possible
__________________
Rackster Internet Services's presences:
Official | Open Source | Github | Facebook | Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th September 2012, 23:23
Sotiris.k Sotiris.k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I noticed the error on the cp command and typed it correctly at the time, so it's not this problem.

Although I didn't notice the "~" and went to check again now but still I couldn't see it.

Nevertheless, I managed to access the site by messing with the hosts file on my client terminal as was suggested beforehands.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spamassasin markasjunk2 roundcube plugin HyperAtom General 1 17th November 2012 20:19
Need help with ISPConfig Mail and Squirrelmail m.xander Installation/Configuration 109 3rd February 2012 00:15
Spamsnake - Problem with spamassassin, FuzzyOcr and MySQL debuguser HOWTO-Related Questions 6 16th September 2008 18:37
Spamassassin not working hairydog2 General 7 12th July 2008 21:15
help with the Postfix Spam Filter using Ubuntu Dapper, MailScanner... tutorial the block Suggest HOWTO 1 8th November 2006 18:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.