Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th August 2012, 10:20
FeraTechInc FeraTechInc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 136
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default ISPConfig Default Website

When we deactivate the one of our website. The user automatically gets redirected to one of our client sites.

Is it possible to change this?

I have tried creating a link named "0" and linked it to our main company site. We placed it in /var/www and /var/www/WWW directories without success.

Is there any way to change the default site which shows up when a client tries to access a site which doesn't exist or is disabled?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th August 2012, 10:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Apache shows the first site in alphabetic order that exists for a specific IP address if no site matches. So if you want to create a default site, you just have to ensure that it is the first one in alphabetic order.

Create a new site in ispconfig and use as domain name e.g.:

00000-defaultsite.tld

The domain name does not have to exist, it just have to be the first one to become the default site.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th August 2012, 20:53
FeraTechInc FeraTechInc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 136
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

This did not work.

I also tried doing a redirect for the website that was showing up and the redirect does not work eigther...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th August 2012, 09:13
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Then you most likely did not select the correct IP address for the site or you did not wait until changes were written to disk. The steps I described abive work for all Linux distributions and setups that have a apache server installed.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th August 2012, 09:58
FeraTechInc FeraTechInc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 136
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I had to select the IP address for the site. It now works.

However, I'm trying to get the redirection to work.

What do the following mean?

No Flag
L
R
L,R

I want to have it redirected to my main company site.

I have http://www.mysite.com
I have tried L R and L,R then No Flag.

Is that not how redirection works?

Last edited by FeraTechInc; 29th August 2012 at 10:12.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th August 2012, 10:11
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Please see apache docs for detailed infor about apache rewrite flags:

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/current...d_rewrite.html

The redirect is done for the domain of the website. As you dont use a real domain for the site, the redirect can not work. You can e.g. add a .htaccess file with a wildcard redirect in the web directory of the site.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 29th August 2012 at 10:13.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th August 2012, 10:16
FeraTechInc FeraTechInc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 136
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

From what I gather if I set "No Flags" it should work... It didn't...

So I just made a quick HTML page.

HTML Code:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
<head>

</head>

<frameset rows="100%,*" border="0">
<frame name="__main" src="http://www.mywebsite.com/"
noresize frameborder="0">
<noframes>
<h2>Your Web browser does not support frames</h2>
<p>
Please click the link to visit
<a href="http://www.mywebsite.com/"> My Website </a>
directly.
</p>
</noframes>
</frameset>


</html>
It's late I'm tired... It works...

Posted the page in case anybody else finds it useful.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th August 2012, 10:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,478
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
From what I gather if I set "No Flags" it should work... It didn't...
No, it can not work. Please see my explanation in #6 if you want to know why.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
disabled, site

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
webalizer in ispconfig3 pinguinito General 12 4th October 2012 10:50
mail recipient linux_red Installation/Configuration 6 9th March 2012 14:24
Version 1.3 of the ISPConfig 3 Manual is finally available! falko General 44 2nd December 2011 12:04
Admin Program for Virtual Users and Domains Postfix courier etc...(Ubuntu 8.04)? the1rob HOWTO-Related Questions 11 4th August 2009 04:54
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 10:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.