Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th August 2012, 13:19
ITFixt ITFixt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Question Odd directories in VH & other issues - ISPConfig 3.0.4.6

I have just installed ISPConfig 3.0.4.6. In the Apache Virtual Host I am seeing directories for both the client and the actual web site, amongst others, in "PHP open_basedir":

/var/www/clients/client1/web1/web:
/var/www/clients/client1/web1/tmp:
/var/www/tashakolash.com/web:
/srv/www/tashakolash.com/web:
/usr/share/php5:
/tmp:
/usr/share/phpmyadmin:
/etc/phpmyadmin:
/var/lib/phpmyadmin:
/usr/share/php

I'm pretty sure this should not be happening! Anyone got any ideas?

BTW, I don't have phpmyadmin installed (and won't unless it's essential for ISPCConfig to function properly) so I don't see why that should be in there.

Please ask if any more info required.

Also - I've just noticed that on the Sites -> Database page, the field widths are far too small.

Lastly - would I be right in guessing that there's no simple way to transfer data between my old ISPConfig 2 server and my new ISPConfig 3 one?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ITFixt For This Useful Post:
susanjeafre (4th September 2012)
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th August 2012, 13:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,403
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,494 Times in 4,325 Posts
Default

Quote:
I have just installed ISPConfig 3.0.4.6. In the Apache Virtual Host I am seeing directories for both the client and the actual web site, amongst others, in "PHP open_basedir":
The open_basedir settings are absolutely correct. If you take a closer look on your filesystem then you will recognize that some of them are symlinks. And beside that, its all freely configurayble under System > server config > web for new servers and Sites > websites > options for individual sites.

Quote:
BTW, I don't have phpmyadmin installed (and won't unless it's essential for ISPCConfig to function properly) so I don't see why that should be in there.
Ok, you you basically tell us that you did not follow the installation instructions for ISPConfig 3 that contain the installation of phpmyadmin before the installation of ispconfig. If you dont want to use phpmyadmin, then remove the path from the open basedir as I described above.

Quote:
Also - I've just noticed that on the Sites -> Database page, the field widths are far too small.
They are not too small here in ISPConfig 3.0.4.6. Please note that the mysql restricts the length of usernames and database names and not ISPConfig. Take a look at the mysql documentation.

Quote:
Lastly - would I be right in guessing that there's no simple way to transfer data between my old ISPConfig 2 server and my new ISPConfig 3 one?
ISPConfig 2 and ISPConfig 3 are completely different software packages, the only thing they ashre is the first part of the name. There are no import scripts available for ISPConfig 2.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th August 2012, 14:17
ITFixt ITFixt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the swift & helpful reply, Till.

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
The open_basedir settings are absolutely correct. If you take a closer look on your filesystem then you will recognize that some of them are symlinks. And beside that, its all freely configurayble under System > server config > web for new servers and Sites > websites > options for individual sites.
OK - I somehow missed that row of tabs at System > server config > web. I guess I might have been in too much of a hurry to find my way around 3, having been running 2 for several years :/

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Ok, you you basically tell us that you did not follow the installation instructions for ISPConfig 3 that contain the installation of phpmyadmin before the installation of ispconfig.
Indeed. None of my users would use it and I prefer the SQL Server module in Webmin... I kinda assumed leaving it out wouldn't be an issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you dont want to use phpmyadmin, then remove the path from the open basedir as I described above.
OK

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
They are not too small here in ISPConfig 3.0.4.6. Please note that the mysql restricts the length of usernames and database names and not ISPConfig. Take a look at the mysql documentation.
I don't think I explained myself well. The fields are one-character wide drop-down boxes. Might be a browser issue on my machine. I'll check in another one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
ISPConfig 2 and ISPConfig 3 are completely different software packages, the only thing they ashre is the first part of the name. There are no import scripts available for ISPConfig 2.
I thought that might be the case. Oh well, I guess I have a week's work ahead of me porting my users one-by-one :{ I was pretty much expecting that... seemed to be a better idea than installing 2 on a new server

Thanks again - and thanks for ISPConfig!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th August 2012, 14:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,403
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,494 Times in 4,325 Posts
Default

Quote:
I thought that might be the case. Oh well, I guess I have a week's work ahead of me porting my users one-by-one :{ I was pretty much expecting that... seemed to be a better idea than installing 2 on a new server
ISPConfig 2 is not maintained anymore and is not installable on latest Linux distributions due to changes in the libc, so it is recommended to use ISPonfig 3 dor new installs.

Quote:
I don't think I explained myself well. The fields are one-character wide drop-down boxes. Might be a browser issue on my machine. I'll check in another one.
It should be input fields for mysql username and password in ISPConfig 3.0., I'am not aware of any briwser issues in the current release, maybe its a problem with abrowser plugin or similar issue.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th August 2012, 15:50
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 932
Thanks: 16
Thanked 262 Times in 208 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ITFixt View Post
I don't think I explained myself well. The fields are one-character wide drop-down boxes. Might be a browser issue on my machine. I'll check in another one.
If it shows like this in a different browser, too, maybe try posting a screenshot. Might help.
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All files gone after changing quota to 0 spynode General 17 19th January 2012 14:41
Webmin upgrade lishaw1968 Installation/Configuration 15 26th August 2010 15:23
Loads of mysql connections to dbispconfig StrikerNL General 2 5th March 2009 14:31
ISPConfig installation into multiple OpenVZ containers letezo Installation/Configuration 11 3rd March 2009 22:47
The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! KalishNikova Installation/Configuration 6 6th November 2007 14:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.