Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Technical

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th August 2012, 02:11
lucho115 lucho115 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default System reboot when use kvm-virtmanager

hi, iam using kvm with virtmanager since a while without problems (and also virtualbox) but now when i start a virtual manchine the host system reboots (virtualbox still run without problems), i dont know how to fix it. My system is an amd phenom x6 1100T, 16gb of ram (amd 1600 cas9), 1 tb wd blach edition sata3, amd HD5650 1gb ddr3, an the SO is ubuntu 12.04 64 bits.
I have to say that boot with the ubuntu 12.04 64bits live-dvd, install kvm, and try to use one of the virtual manchines and the system reboot like with my installed system, 2 weeks ago i have no problems, maybe its a hardware problem, but virtualbox and all the others programs runs ok, the only that have problems is kvm. I test the mem with memtest and in 10 passed have no erros.
i will waiting for yours response.
thanks and sorry abouy my english.
bye
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th August 2012, 15:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,736 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Did you check your logs for errors?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th August 2012, 23:56
lucho115 lucho115 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Did you check your logs for errors?
No, because i dnot know in what file take a look, what file i have to check?
thks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th August 2012, 00:14
lucho115 lucho115 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

in .virt-manager/virt-manager.log :

Code:
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] INFO (cli:71) virt-manager startup
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (virt-manager:300) Launched as: /usr/share/virt-manager/virt-manager.py
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (virt-manager:301) GTK version: (2, 24, 10)
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (virt-manager:302) virtManager import: <module 'virtManager' from '/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/__init__.pyc'>
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (engine:555) No inspection thread because libguestfs is too old, not available, or libvirt is not thread safe.
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (systray:138) Showing systray: False
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (engine:346) About to connect to uris ['qemu:///system']
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (manager:171) Showing manager
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (engine:471) window counter incremented to 1
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (manager:171) Showing manager
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (connection:991) Scheduling background open thread for qemu:///system
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (connection:1177) Background 'open connection' thread is running
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (connection:1227) Background open thread complete, scheduling notify
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:48 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (connection:1232) Notifying open result
[jue, 09 ago 2012 18:58:49 virt-manager 7229] DEBUG (connection:1239) qemu:///system capabilities:
<capabilities>

  <host>
    <uuid>00020003-0004-0005-0006-000700080009</uuid>
    <cpu>
      <arch>x86_64</arch>
      <model>Opteron_G3</model>
      <vendor>AMD</vendor>
      <topology sockets='1' cores='6' threads='1'/>
      <feature name='wdt'/>
      <feature name='skinit'/>
      <feature name='osvw'/>
      <feature name='3dnowprefetch'/>
      <feature name='cr8legacy'/>
      <feature name='extapic'/>
      <feature name='cmp_legacy'/>
      <feature name='3dnow'/>
      <feature name='3dnowext'/>
      <feature name='pdpe1gb'/>
      <feature name='fxsr_opt'/>
      <feature name='mmxext'/>
      <feature name='ht'/>
      <feature name='vme'/>
    </cpu>
in /var/log/libvirt/qemu/*.log is clean for today
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st September 2012, 16:01
lucho115 lucho115 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Any idea? i still will the same problem, the only that i can add is that 1 week ago after a huge update, i try again and works, i can virtualize windows 7 and centos, i was used for 2 hours, then shutdown the centos vm ok, and when i shutdowning the windows 7 vm the system restart, and after this restart all came back to the same, i can again use kvm becauso i press play to a vm the system restart. Well i look for info but i dont find nothing similar to my problem, and maybe i think thatcan be a problem of conpatibitity of the chipset mobo (990FX) and kvm, i dont know actually.
thnks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th October 2012, 21:20
lucho115 lucho115 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Solved -- The problem was the cpu, with a fx8150 works ok, but the old cpu its fine, because on a 870 mobo works ok with kvm, i think thats was an incompatibility of the mobo and the cpu.
bye
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Start ISPConfig royrobinson Installation/Configuration 15 30th May 2012 10:48
mail queue - mail not sending not receiving Amorphous Installation/Configuration 2 24th January 2012 23:55
Can all the installation and configuration be automated (Kickstart) gabby Installation/Configuration 0 30th January 2010 19:47
The system is currently updating the configuration files. warlock General 8 21st February 2009 18:15
How to install OpenOficeOrg 3.0.0 in Ubuntu 8.04 ernesthagger HOWTO-Related Questions 43 23rd December 2008 14:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.