#1  
Old 24th July 2012, 19:54
frankbootmaker frankbootmaker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Bind9 problem?

Hi,

I have all latest updates installed and have a problem with bind9.
Periodically at a domain that has also txt, srv and several cname records defined it "forgets" the zone file. If I try to import it than the import is successful but the zone won't show up in the results of dig command.

The only way to fix it is to re-create it with the wizard and add the records one by one again.

Do you have any idea what could cause it?

I attached the zone file to be imported.

Cheers,
Ferenc
Attached Files
File Type: txt skyking.hu.txt (1.2 KB, 38 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th July 2012, 22:13
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,041
Thanks: 841
Thanked 5,660 Times in 4,467 Posts
Default

Please check the syslog file in /var/log for named / bind errors.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th July 2012, 23:01
frankbootmaker frankbootmaker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Bind errors

Hi,

this is in the log file:

Jul 24 16:58:02 hosting named[11602]: reloading zones succeeded
Jul 24 16:58:02 hosting named[11602]: dns_master_load: /etc/bind/pri.skyking.hu:19: skyking.hu: CNAME and other data
Jul 24 16:58:02 hosting named[11602]: zone skyking.hu/IN: loading from master file /etc/bind/pri.skyking.hu failed: CNAME and other data
Jul 24 16:58:02 hosting named[11602]: zone skyking.hu/IN: not loaded due to errors.

However it doesn't specify which part of the zone file is corrupt...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th July 2012, 23:05
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,041
Thanks: 841
Thanked 5,660 Times in 4,467 Posts
Default

Can you post the file /etc/bind/pri.skyking.hu?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th July 2012, 23:36
frankbootmaker frankbootmaker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default Pri.Skyking.hu

Hi Till,

it's in my prev. post. It's the same content.
In the meanwhile I realised that if I import the zone it won't export / create it as pri.skyking.hu in the /etc/bind folder. So I deleted a CNAME record that was for skyking.hu. CNAME www.skyking.hu. and it forced to export the file to the
/etc/bind folder, soon after the bind9 program managed to read it in and the zone started to work.

Was it perhaps this CNAME record that caused the bind9 to stop...? Not sure but currently it seems to work.

Cheers,
Feri
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
postfix/trivial-rewrite digitalage HOWTO-Related Questions 19 13th March 2013 20:02
table lookup problem aurelius Installation/Configuration 5 2nd November 2011 20:12
Bind9 failed to start after server restart laptop_user Installation/Configuration 2 1st October 2011 11:35
Apache boot problem / GlusterFS loading stefanm Installation/Configuration 2 9th August 2011 15:25
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 15:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.