Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 20th July 2012, 14:16
abintipl abintipl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 145
Thanks: 29
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default DIsk

Sir,

root@server1:~# cat /proc/partitions
major minor #blocks name

202 1 5242880 xvda1
root@server1:~#

And

root@server1:~# fdisk -l /dev/xvda
root@server1:~#

There is no output for fdisk -l /dev/xvda
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 20th July 2012, 14:18
Sir Henry Sir Henry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Sorry, I can't help any further. I do not know why you have only one partition and no swap.

Is reinstalling an option for you? Or else you might want to wait for a better expert...
__________________
Cheers, Sir Henry
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20th July 2012, 14:27
abintipl abintipl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 145
Thanks: 29
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Option

Dear Sir,

I wait for an Expert's answer.

I can reinstall if there's no option

Further, I am on VPS & whenever I run apt-get update / upgrade some AMD error is shown & remember I did some changes while correcting the error, which is shown below in "apt-get upgrade"

apt-get update

Reading package lists... Done
W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://security.debian.org/ squeeze/updates/main
amd64 Packages (/var/lib/apt/lists/security.debian.org_dists_squeeze_updates_ma
in_binary-amd64_Packages)
W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
root@server1:~#

apt-get upgrade

Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Y
Setting up linux-image-2.6.32-5-amd64 (2.6.32-45) ...
Running depmod.
Running update-initramfs.
update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-5-amd64
Examining /etc/kernel/postinst.d.
run-parts: executing /etc/kernel/postinst.d/initramfs-tools 2.6.32-5-amd64 /boot
/vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-amd64
run-parts: executing /etc/kernel/postinst.d/zz-update-grub 2.6.32-5-amd64 /boot/
vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-amd64
Searching for GRUB installation directory ... found: /boot/grub
Searching for default file ... Generating /boot/grub/default file and setting th
e default boot entry to 0
entry not specified.
run-parts: /etc/kernel/postinst.d/zz-update-grub exited with return code 1
Failed to process /etc/kernel/postinst.d at /var/lib/dpkg/info/linux-image-2.6.3
2-5-amd64.postinst line 799.
dpkg: error processing linux-image-2.6.32-5-amd64 (--configure):
subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 2
Setting up linux-image-2.6.32-5-xen-amd64 (2.6.32-45) ...
configured to not write apport reports
Running depmod.
Running update-initramfs.
update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-5-xen-amd64
Examining /etc/kernel/postinst.d.
run-parts: executing /etc/kernel/postinst.d/initramfs-tools 2.6.32-5-xen-amd64 /
boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-xen-amd64
run-parts: executing /etc/kernel/postinst.d/zz-update-grub 2.6.32-5-xen-amd64 /b
oot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-5-xen-amd64
Searching for GRUB installation directory ... found: /boot/grub
Searching for default file ... Generating /boot/grub/default file and setting th
e default boot entry to 0
entry not specified.
run-parts: /etc/kernel/postinst.d/zz-update-grub exited with return code 1
Failed to process /etc/kernel/postinst.d at /var/lib/dpkg/info/linux-image-2.6.3
2-5-xen-amd64.postinst line 799.
dpkg: error processing linux-image-2.6.32-5-xen-amd64 (--configure):
subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 2
configured to not write apport reports
Errors were encountered while processing:
linux-image-2.6.32-5-amd64
linux-image-2.6.32-5-xen-amd64
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
root@server1:~#
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20th July 2012, 14:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

I think he is useing a virtual server and most virtual servers dont have a swap partition.

What he can try is to create a swap file as described here:

http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/linux-a...ap-file-howto/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20th July 2012, 14:41
abintipl abintipl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 145
Thanks: 29
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Swap

Till Sir,

I am on cloud server and have done as per instructions.

To be sure, I just pasting output of vi/etc/fstab for your confirmation. After making changes, I have rebooted my server

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc /swapfile1 swap swap defaults 0
0
/dev/xvda1 / ext3 errors=remount-ro,usrjquota=aquota.user,
grpjquota=aquota.group,jqfmt=vfsv0 0 1
~
~
~
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 20th July 2012, 14:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

Ok,so your provider vanishes all config changes after a reboot. Please run:

swapon /swapfile1

again and then post the output of:

free -m
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 20th July 2012, 14:51
Sir Henry Sir Henry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abintipl View Post
proc /proc proc /swapfile1 swap swap defaults 0 0
It is not the provider - he mixed the swap line into the /proc line !
__________________
Cheers, Sir Henry
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 20th July 2012, 14:57
abintipl abintipl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 145
Thanks: 29
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Swap

root@server1:~# free -m
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 764 748 16 0 5 193
-/+ buffers/cache: 549 215
Swap: 511 0 511
root@server1:~#
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 20th July 2012, 15:02
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

=k, the swap is active. Does your server has a file /etc/rc.local? If yes, add the command:

swapon /swapfile1

to that file. so that the swap gets activated after a reboot.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 20th July 2012, 15:08
abintipl abintipl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 145
Thanks: 29
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
 
Default swap

Sir,

I do have /etc/rc.local & have added the line

output is as under

#!/bin/sh -e
#
# rc.local
#
# This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
# Make sure that the script will "exit 0" on success or any other
# value on error.
#
# In order to enable or disable this script just change the execution
# bits.
#
# By default this script does nothing.

swapon /swapfile1

exit 0
~
~
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix Cannot Receive Email - Smtp Timed Out newbielinx Installation/Configuration 4 26th September 2011 17:14
Sending email issue lezelf Installation/Configuration 15 9th August 2011 11:20
cant receive email, issue with user@www.domain.com Julian_Lopez Installation/Configuration 1 13th February 2009 12:15
Email Forwarding Issue crayz1 Server Operation 4 15th January 2009 13:49
Minor issue with email rabrol Installation/Configuration 3 16th November 2007 09:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.