Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th April 2012, 09:48
melkij22 melkij22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DNS not working with ISPconfig3

Hi all,
I have question about DNS. I'm using opensuse 12.1 OS.
Also I have one server which is connected to internet via router with DMZ. ( I can connect to server and do whatever I want via external IP address ).
I have installed mydns and fresh install of ispconfig 3. ( done everything like was written in Perfect server guide )
Then I changed ns1 and ns2 at my domain registrator to :
ns1.mydomain.com ip : myexternalip
ns2.mydomain.com ip : myexternalip

Then I made dns records in ispconfig -> dns :
DNS Zone :
Code:
Zone ( SOA ) mydomain.com
NS ns1.mydomain.com
Email info@mydomain.com
Refresh 7200
Retry 540
Expire 604800
Minimum 86400
TTL 3600
And records :
Code:
	A 	mydomain.com. 	MyExternalIP 	0 	
	A 	mail 	MyExternalIP 	0 	
	A 	www 	MyExternalIP 	0 	
	MX 	mydomain.com. 	mail.mydomain.com. 	10 	
	NS 	mydomain.com. 	ns1.mydomain.com. 	0 	
	NS 	mydomain.com. 	ns2.mydomain.com. 	0
Then I tryed to ping mydomain.com, but it is written :
Ping request could not find host mydomain.com. Please check the name and try again.


and here is dig
Code:
 <<>> DiG 9.8.1-P1 <<>> mydomain.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 38417
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mydomain.com.                        IN      A

;; Query time: 48 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.1.254#53(192.168.1.254)
;; WHEN: Fri May 18 10:10:50 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 32
What should I check or do?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th April 2012, 10:20
melkij22 melkij22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I managed to make it working. Just mydns was not working. so port 53 was closed.
Now another question - I have made domain and added website, but there is a problem - when I'm connecting from my ftp to domain and changed index file, browser still showing old ( standart ) index page not my new, why?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th April 2012, 11:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

If you uploaded a new index file,please ensure that you deleted the default index.html file from ispconfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th April 2012, 12:18
melkij22 melkij22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you uploaded a new index file,please ensure that you deleted the default index.html file from ispconfig.
yes, I done it. Firstly deleted old index file, then uploaded new. Problem still exists
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th April 2012, 12:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Ensure that you enabled auto subdomain ww in the website settings. Also your dns records are incomplete, the a-records for ns1 and ns2 are missing.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th April 2012, 12:27
melkij22 melkij22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Ensure that you enabled auto subdomain ww in the website settings. Also your dns records are incomplete, the a-records for ns1 and ns2 are missing.
autosubdomain - www was enabled. I have added ns1 and ns2 A records, still problem the same
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th April 2012, 12:38
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Dekete all files with the name "index.html" in the "web" directory of the website as root user. Then restart apache and try again.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th April 2012, 12:57
melkij22 melkij22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have done it. Still problem exists.
I have created another domain and ftp user, when I'm connecting via ftp manager I can see that ipconfig creating everything fine, but when I'm browsing first or second domain I still see this standard index page ( but it is deleted from first and second domain )
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th April 2012, 13:05
melkij22 melkij22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As I see in FTP options - my site should be in /srv/www/clients/client1/web1 but when I'm opening that dir it's showing me that can't access that dir and there is no index file ( but in ftp I see index file )
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th April 2012, 13:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
 
Default

The website dir is /srv/www/clients/client1/web1/web and not /srv/www/clients/client1/web1 and in /srv/www/clients/client1/web1/web/ there must be a file named index.html and this file has to be deleted.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ispconfig3 dns site problem dunkjf General 4 8th April 2012 19:15
DNS not working rrijken Installation/Configuration 3 7th March 2012 17:19
Debian 5 (Lenny) upgrade to Debian 6 (Squeeze) DNS and Mail Not working por Installation/Configuration 8 27th March 2011 20:17
ISPconfig3 and DNS server for internal network Mitz Server Operation 0 12th November 2009 11:31
Dns question Mahir Installation/Configuration 48 14th November 2006 10:19


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.