Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 13th April 2012, 14:20
poisen poisen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chiemsee, Germany
Posts: 56
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via Skype™ to poisen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julian View Post
Come on man! no one can help me??!!
There are no techs here anymore!?

There are a lot of nice howtos about this subject! its no one here?

(
Hey Julian,

do you have a solution for your problem already? I wanna do the same thing, I have 2 servers, they are clustered already and that is working, now I only have the problem with failover so in case one of the 2 servers goes down, the other one does the business.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 13th April 2012, 16:15
Julian Julian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no, I didnt found a solution to this:

can you describe a little bit your solution?


Quote:
Originally Posted by poisen View Post
Hey Julian,

do you have a solution for your problem already? I wanna do the same thing, I have 2 servers, they are clustered already and that is working, now I only have the problem with failover so in case one of the 2 servers goes down, the other one does the business.
__________________
Iulian HALAC
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13th April 2012, 19:50
poisen poisen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chiemsee, Germany
Posts: 56
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via Skype™ to poisen
Default

I have 2 servers hosted at "Hetzner" and also have a failover-IP where you can switch between both servers using a web interface, but now I am a little bit confused since I don't exactly know what to do now. The DNS settings of a domain have to route to the failover-ip, is that correct? sadly, when I ping the failover-ip, I get no reply. Do I have to make some more settings on the two servers?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14th April 2012, 12:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poisen View Post
The DNS settings of a domain have to route to the failover-ip, is that correct?
That's right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by poisen View Post
sadly, when I ping the failover-ip, I get no reply. Do I have to make some more settings on the two servers?
You have to configure the failover-IP on both servers (e.g. as eth0:0).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14th April 2012, 12:18
poisen poisen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chiemsee, Germany
Posts: 56
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via Skype™ to poisen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
That's right.

You have to configure the failover-IP on both servers (e.g. as eth0:0).
Hey falko,

I did the following, edited /etc/network/interfaces and added

Code:
post-up /sbin/ifconfig eth0:0 178.63.45.111 netmask 255.255.255.192 broadcast 178.63.45.111
post-down /sbin/ifconfig eth0:0 down
afterwards did the following:

Code:
root@vishnu ~ # ifup eth0:0
Ignoring unknown interface eth0:0=eth0:0.
....what am I doing wrong? The servers are hosted at Hetzner. Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 15th April 2012, 11:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Is this a physical server or a virtual machine?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 16th April 2012, 16:38
poisen poisen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chiemsee, Germany
Posts: 56
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via Skype™ to poisen
Default

Hello falko,

I have 2 physical machines and one failover ip ... I already figured out the network configuration, just added the following to both config files of /etc/network/interfaces

Code:
auto eth0:0
iface eth0:0 inet static
  address   FA.IL.OVER.IP
  broadcast FA.IL.OVER.IP
  netmask   255.255.255.255
only problem is now that I have problems receiving emails from domains that are configured through ispconfig. Do I have to configure multiple MX-records to each of the physical servers or do I configure only one MX-record to the reverse-dns of the failover-ip? I'd be very thankful to get an answer to that question.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 17th April 2012, 12:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

You just need one MX record that points to an A record which points to your failover IP.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 5th May 2012, 02:57
bc2946088 bc2946088 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Why not just use a DNS provider that has failover?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
different location, glusterfs, ispconfig 3, mirror server

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.3.3 fresh instalation - email tab is empty artur_gib Installation/Configuration 14 28th January 2014 19:02
Loads of mysql connections to dbispconfig StrikerNL General 2 5th March 2009 14:31
ISPConfig installation into multiple OpenVZ containers letezo Installation/Configuration 11 3rd March 2009 22:47
Error installing ISPConfig on debian omniware Installation/Configuration 3 10th September 2008 15:36
e-mail problem!!! Debian 3.1 maroonworks Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2005 14:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.